New Eberly Reader Essay Contest Winners Announced

Posted on 12/18/2012 10:23:50 PM

Common Reader Essay WinnersThe winners of the Eberly Reader essay contest were announced on December 13, 2012, in the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology during the Eberly Connections Showcase.

Four Eberly students won prizes between $200 and $500 for their exceptional essays about the reader, That Used to be Us, by Thomas L. Friedman and Michael Mandelbaum.

Coming in first place were Megan Morris and Luc Lawson, receiving prizes of $500 each.

Morris is a junior Accounting and Business major from Lockport, New York. She is a member of the Eberly Business Honors Program and the Robert E. Cook Honors College. Morris is additionally the president of the Student Accounting Association and a member of the IUP swim club.

Lawson is an Accounting major from Collegeville, Pa. He is the treasurer of the resident hall council in Stephenson Hall. “It was a great feeling just to be a finalist in the contest, but winning it was even better. The prize will definitely be useful for my textbooks next semester,” Lawson said.

Second-place awards went to Nicole Borstorff and Kristy McLaughlin, who received prizes of $200 each.

Borstorff is a Finance major from West Springfield, Pa. She is involved in the Eberly College of Business and Technology Business Honors program and is the president of the IUP Mock Trial Club.

McLaughlin is a Human Resource Management major from Landenberg, Pa., and a member of the freshmen Business Honors Program. “Hearing my professor call my name to come see if I won was a great way to end my last day before break,” Mclaughlin said.

The essay contest has been going on all semester, with three rounds of elimination allowing these students to become finalists.

The Eberly Reader and related contest was implemented when the university ceased the universitywide common reader program. The Eberly College of Business believes exposure to current business-related literature is critical to student development. A search for a new book for the 2013–2014 reader program is currently being conducted.

—By Katlyn Glaser