Full House at Punxsutawney Poetry Slam

Posted on 11/14/2012 6:27:14 AM

IUP Punxsutawney held its sixth annual Poetry Slam on November 12, 2012. An overflow crowd cheered as their fellow students competed for best original poem of the night.

The annual event is organized by the IUP Punxsutawney Writing Center director, Lynn Shelly. She was assisted this year by English graduate assistant Rachel Griffo. Rod Taylor, also a graduate student in English, served as one of the judges.

The winner of this year’s Poetry Slam was Will Rouse with his poem titled “Hey There, Pops.” Perfect scores were also achieved by Tycheonah Harris, Khalik Long, DeQuan Stubbs, and Ryan Jeffries. Aria Nunez served as MC.

Department of English