Burns '90, Johnson '80, and Ninosky '93 Take Seats on Alumni Association Board

Posted on 8/7/2012 11:54:03 AM

While the Alumni Association bids farewell to three members of its board of directors, it welcomes three new directors.

Stephanie Lambidakis ’81, Suzy Kuhn Teele ’82, and Jim Wansacz ’94 have fulfilled their terms, while Tim Burns ’90, Ward Johnson ’80, and John Ninosky ’93 have joined the board.

For the 2012-13 year, Michael Staub ’80 has moved into the board president position. Sandra Koeppl Barsotti ’87 serves as vice president, Matthew Konetschni ’95, M’98 as secretary, and Phillip Carrai ’83 as treasurer.

See biographical information about the entire board’s membership.

“Staying connected can help alumni in their professional careers and assist with advancing the goals of the university,” Staub said. “It is important for alumni to engage with current students and faculty, and it’s common for board members, while on campus, to interact with students, faculty, and staff members. This allows us to stay informed on current issues that affect the university and, more important, begin dialogue with our future graduates.”

The IUP Alumni Association concentrates on several key initiatives, according to Staub, who professionally serves with the Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General as deputy chief of its Bureau of Investigations. Association initiatives include increasing alumni involvement, fostering lifelong relationships between alumni and the immediate campus community, and strengthening pride in affiliation with IUP.

“In the absence of a strong alumni association board, the Alumni Relations Office would not be able to accomplish what it does each year—including our awards programs, our outreach efforts, and our efforts to mentor students and assist with recruiting new students,” Mary Jo Banks Lyttle ’86, M’89, IUP’s Alumni Relations director, said. “These board members are among IUP’s very best volunteer advocates, and we appreciate their time and talent.”