Math Department Hosts 49th Annual High School Mathematics Competition

Posted on 5/29/2012 11:23:35 AM

The Mathematics Department hosted almost 150 students from 18 area schools at its 49th annual High School Mathematics Competition on May 11, 2012.

Professor Kimberly Burch, Professor Timothy Flowers, Professor Dan Burkett, and their colleagues welcomed the students for the competition, lunch, and awards ceremony.

Dean Deanne Snavely of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics presented students with their awards.

The schools attending were Annville-Cleona High School, Blairsville High School, Bishop McCort High School, Brookville Area Junior-Senior High School, Burrell High School, Derry Area High School, Indiana Area High School, Jefferson County–DuBois Area Vocational-Technical School, Kiski Area High School, Knoch High School, Marion Center High School, Oil City Senior High School, Penn Hills High School, Penn Trafford High School, Portage High School, Punxsutawney Senior High School, Richland Junior-Senior High School, and Venango Catholic High School.

Individual awards were given to the top six scorers and the top scorer in grades 9–12. Team awards were given to the top three schools in Division I (larger enrollment schools) and Division II (smaller enrollment schools), based on the top three scores for each school.

In addition, the Robert E. Cook Honors College gave full and half scholarships to their summer honors program to the top scorers in grades 10 and 11.

Please see our photo gallery of the winners of the competition.

Division II Top Scorers

  1. Bishop McCourt: Song Lu, Zheru Liu, Brett Diehl
  2. Burrell: Josh Murphy, Maggie Okobi, Drew Klebine
  3. Marion Center: Amanda Adkins, Aaron Hoover, Jakeb Rising

Division I Top Scorers

  1. Kiski: Penn Trafford: Jiahao Shen, Jeff Kelly, Jordon Ellis
  2. Punxsutawney: Jake Smith, Alex Voris, Quinton Weber
  3. Penn Hills: Zeleena Kearney, Courtney Chambers, Andy Christman

Top Scorers by Grade

Grade 9: Brett Diehl, Bishop McCort

Grade 10: Zeleena Kearney, Penn Hills

Grade 11: Jiahao Shen, Penn Trafford

Grade 12: Amanda Adkins, Marion Center

Top Scorers Overall

First Place: Jiahao Shen, Penn Trafford

Second Place: Amanda Adkins, Marion Center

Third Place: Song Lu, Bishop McCort

Fourth Place: Josh Murphy, Burrell

Fifth Place: Zheru Liu, Bishop McCort

Sixth Place (tie): Brett Diehl, Bishop McCort; Christopher Berger, Anniville-Cleona