Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony 2012

Posted on 5/2/2012 3:00:45 PM

Only the best business students in the world, and the professionals who earned the distinction of “the Best in Business” during their academic careers, can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. This year’s Beta Gamma Sigma inductees from Indiana University of Pennsylvania have certainly earned that title.

Beta Gamma Sigma 2012

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology Chapter congratulates the students who have earned invitations in 2012. They join an expanding worldwide network of more than 625,000 outstanding business professionals who have earned recognition through lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by AACSB International—Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business—are eligible for this invitation.

Beta Gamma Sigma lifetime membership is truly an international honor. With the expansion of accreditation by AACSB International, membership is no longer limited to those who have studied in the U.S. or Canada. Beta Gamma Sigma has installed collegiate chapters and inducted students on six continents. The most outstanding IUP students are eligible for the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master’s program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

The following students and faculty were inducted into the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at the Spring 2012 ceremony held on Sunday, April 29, in the Eberly Auditorium:


Jesse Erich, Lindsay Kosuth, Justin Maney, Megan McCreery, Scott Mehall, Matt Pearce, and Johnathan Reiner


Tabitha Barrick, Grey Berrier, Julian Chimelewski, Brian Foster-Pegg, Huan Jiang, Ruoling Li, John Littlejohn, Megan Morris, Christopher Potter, Erin Puko, Ethan Robinson, Walter Smith, and Barbara Yockey


Sarina Aryal, Anjan Bangalore, Jennifer Baxter, Cynthia Cavero Avalos, Fredrick DuBrock, Mary Hall, Huang Huang, Aditya Jaiswal, Shivani Meher, Loic Amin Rahmouni, Sean Ryan, Shruthi Shivashankar, Sam Swarna, and Adam Weis

Faculty Inductee

Micki Hyde

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization on February 19, 1913. The first national honor society in business was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois, and the University of California.

With collegiate chapters on five continents, Beta Gamma Sigma today is truly an international society that remains dedicated to recognizing the most outstanding students of business and management. The society serves business schools accredited by AACSB International in the 21st century knowing that its membership of more than 625,000 comprises the brightest and best of the world’s business leaders.

Quote from Stephen W. Gilman, one of three professors who founded Beta Gamma Sigma at the University of Wisconsin: “Success is not to be measured by income, but by influence; not by power, but by personality; not by capital, but by character.”