Begany Appointed Vice President for Enrollment Management and Communications

Posted on 9/26/2011 4:13:52 PM

The declining number of high school graduates in Pennsylvania presents a significant challenge to IUP. Maintaining or increasing enrollment is crucial to the financial health of the university and to maintaining our historic status as the largest university within PASSHE. For these reasons, effective September 26, 2011, I have named Mr. James Begany vice president for Enrollment Management and Communications.

Maintaining or increasing enrollment, while simultaneously increasing the quality of incoming students, requires the efforts of the whole university, not only Student Affairs. Moving enrollment management to the vice-presidential level underscores its importance to IUP’s future.

The following units will report to Mr. Begany:

These departments together represent the full continuum of enrollment management, from recruitment, matriculation, retention, and graduation through the pursuit of professional goals. The addition of Communications demonstrates the critical linkages among enrollment, integrated marketing, communications, and the university’s image, both internally and externally.

This restructuring does not change the scope or function of the units now reporting to the vice president for Enrollment Management and Communications. Through the reallocation of existing financial and human resources, these administrative changes are achieved without increasing administrative costs.

Under the leadership of Vice President Rhonda Luckey, the Student Affairs Division remains focused on fostering and providing services and programs vital to students’ achievement and success.

Bill Speidel, associate vice president for Development, continues to direct the University Relations Division, emphasizing exclusively the functions of university development and alumni relations, areas critical to IUP’s financial health and legacy. The position of vice president for University Relations remains unfilled.

David Werner
Interim President