Technology Exploration and Innovation Fund Awards for 2011

Posted on 4/29/2011 2:20:55 PM

Winners of the Academic Computing Policy and Advisory Committee (ACPAC) Technology Exploration and Innovation Fund awards were chosen in the two different categories based on the merit of the proposal, including originality, innovative uses of technology that are not currently in use at IUP, and their impact on student learning.

  • Charlene Bebko (Marketing) was partially funded to purchase E-Prime Professional software that will allow her to link and run electroencephalography equipment along with a Tobii eye tracking system for student demonstrations in the neuromarketing lab.
  • Tracey Cekada (Safety Sciences) was funded to purchase a DirectSense IAQ PPC Survey and Monitoring Kit to provide students with state-of-the-art indoor air quality monitoring capabilities.
  • Jack Stamp (Music) and Mark Piwinsky (Comm Media) were funded for “Enhanced Music Instruction Using Digital Audio Recording,” allowing instructors to play back music for a student after a rehearsal.
  • Ramesh Soni (Management), Parimal Bhagat (Marketing), and Pankaj (MIS and Decision Sciences) were partially funded for their proposal of a “headless classroom.” They will purchase equipment to allow them to teach while walking around the room and interacting with students, rather than being stuck at the media podium.
  • Crystal Machado (Professional Studies in Education) was funded for “Technology Toolbox for Twenty-First-Century Teachers.” She will purchase audio and video equipment to build a portable “toolbox” that can be taken to several classrooms in order to instruct students on the use of technology in K-12 instruction.
  • Lorraine Guth, Claire Dandeneau, and Holly Branthoover (Counseling) were funded for “Software to support evaluation of new technology.” They will purchase equipment to pilot the use of a Digital Counselor Training Facility, giving on-site training to meet their clinical needs.
  • Beverly Chiarulli (Anthropology) was funded for “Evaluation of Ground Penetrating Radar Antennas for Discovery of Prehistoric and Historic Archaelogical Sites.”
  • Nate McElroy (Chemistry) was funded for “The Use of Tablet Devices to Enhance the Learning Experience in Chemistry.”
  • John Lowery (Student Affairs in Higher Education) was funded for “Use of Tablet Computing in Teaching, Research, and Service Contexts by Faculty.”
  • Wayne Moore (Technology Support and Training) was funded for “iPad 2—Technology at Its Best” to explore the use of the iPad 2 in course instruction.
  • Scott Moore (History) was funded for “Paperless Archaeology” to purchase server and application software to allow field personnel to upload data while on sites.
  • Harrison Wick (Libraries) was funded for travel to the Society of American Archivist’s annual meeting to learn about the newest technologies for archival collections.