IUP Honoring Distinguished Alumni for 2011

Posted on 3/15/2011 8:58:46 AM

On April 2, 2011, nine outstanding alumni will be honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award at a black-tie gala on the IUP campus.

This award is given annually to alumni who have achieved distinction through sustained performance in their chosen professions or to alumni who have provided outstanding service to IUP. Of the more than 110,000 IUP alumni, only 304 have received this award.

This year’s award winners include leaders in fields of business, journalism, state government, international security, education, and other professions.

You can read more about the 2011 award recipients at Distinguished Alumni Awards.

The IUP Alumni Association is pleased to recognize and thank the members of the awards selection committee.

2011 Distinguished Alumni Awards Selection Committee

Mike Staub ’80, chairperson, deputy chief, Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General

Greg Joseph ’85, recording artist and musician, the Clarks

David Mawhinney ’86, adjunct professor of Entrepreneurship, Carnegie Mellon University

Tom Murry ’64, professor of Speech Pathology in Otolaryngology and director of Voice Therapy, Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Weill Cornell Medical College

Stephanie Lambidakis ’81, reporter, CBS News

Steve Skorija ’69, manager, Walt Disney Entertainment Music Department

Patrick Wallace ’85, owner/principal, Covington Investment Advisors

Through the support of alumni and friends, each year the nomination pool continues to grow with highly accomplished candidates.

If you know of an outstanding IUP alumnus or alumna you would like to nominate for a Distinguished Alumni Award, please complete the online nomination form.