Department of Counseling Named Outstanding Counselor Education Preparation Program

Posted on 11/2/2010 9:39:48 AM

Indiana University of Pennsylvania’s Department of Counseling was named the Outstanding Counselor Education Preparation Program by the Pennsylvania Counseling Association (PCA) at its annual conference in October 2010.

Dr. Holly Branthoover, associate professor, and Dr. Michelle Bruno, assistant professor, accepted the award on behalf of the department at PCA’s forty-second annual conference in State College.

The department submitted a packet of information for judging, which included a rationale for nomination, departmental newsletters, a listing of faculty members’ professional activities, and brochures from recent Center for Counselor Training and Services workshops.

The Department of Counseling was also honored with this award in 2003.

“To be selected for this honor twice in seven years is quite humbling and a testament to the caliber of our program,” said department Chair Dr. Claire Dandeneau. “The ongoing support from our dean, Dr. Mary Ann Rafoth, helps to facilitate our efforts. The faculty greatly appreciates Dr. John McCarthy’s work in submitting the application for this award.”

As a state branch of the American Counseling Association, the Pennsylvania Counseling Association accepts the responsibility to serve and represent Pennsylvania’s professional counselors by providing leadership and professional development. The purpose of the Association is to enhance human development throughout the life span and to promote professional counseling.

The Department of Counseling is composed of twelve faculty members, and offers tracks in both Community Counseling and School Counseling on the main campus in Indiana and at the IUP Graduate and Professional Center in Monroeville, Pa. It has a total enrollment of approximately 225 students.

IUP is a member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.