Seventeen recently retired faculty members and a recently retired dean at Indiana University of Pennsylvania have been honored with emeritus status.

Emeritus status is an honor conferred by the university to show respect for a distinguished career. IUP's Academic Committee of the IUP Senate solicits nominations from academic departments for the emeritus status honor and makes recommendations for the honor.

To qualify for the nomination, academic or administrative faculty must have completed 10 years of service to IUP; demonstrated effective teaching or administrative performance; have made significant contributions in scholarly growth; and have been an active participant in their department or the university as a whole.

Recipients are recognized in the university's commencement program. This year's emeriti individuals and the departments or colleges making the nomination include: Gail Berlin, English; Christine Black, Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science; Kathryn Bonach, sociology; Karen Brown, IUP Libraries; Distinguished University Professor David Downing, English; Distinguished University Professor Eileen Glisan, Foreign Languages; Beverly Goodwin, Psychology; Dean Michael Hood, Fine Arts; Jo-Anne Kerr, English; Robert Kostelnik, Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science; Dasen Luo, Psychology; Laura Marshak, Counseling; Brenda Mitchell, Art; Robert Mutchnick, Criminology and Criminal Justice; Linda Norris, English; Willard Radell, Economics; Shari Robertson, Communication Disorders, Special Education, and Disability Services; and Devki Talwar, Physics.