Students are used to answering questions in the classroom.

But, over the next few Saturdays, they will be the ones asking the questions, along with IUP faculty and staff.

IUP is the collegiate sponsor for Hometown High Q, an academic quiz show on KDKA-TV (CBS affiliate in Pittsburgh) that features high school teams from all over Indiana, Armstrong, Allegheny, and Westmoreland counties. The show is broadcast Saturdays at 11:00 a.m. (new) and the show from the previous week is broadcast at 11:30 a.m.

As sponsor, members of the IUP community have the opportunity to ask the IUP Video Question of the Day.

This year, in addition to members of the Crimson Guides, students who had been on the show as part of their high school quiz bowl teams will be representing IUP by asking a question.

The new season of the show begins this weekend, on Saturday, September 14. Tune in and play along. You'll also see some of the new IUP television commercials reflecting the new brand.

Here's a listing of the IUP students, faculty, and staff who will be on the shows during the 2019 season:

  • September 14 – Evan Marino, a junior history major from Smicksburg, a 2015 Hometown High Q contestant
  • September 28 – Crimson Guide Kyle Varone, a senior marketing major from York
  • October 5 – Crimson Guide Kayla Mikesell, a junior marketing major from Clymer
  • October 12 – Crimson Guide Blaise Erzar, a senior criminology-psychology double major from Scranton
  • October 19 – Crimson Guide Meg Ryder, a senior English literature major from Holbrook, NY
  • October 26 and November 2 – Katie Farnsworth, geoscience
  • November 9 and 16 – Distinguished University Professor Krys Kaniasty, psychology
  • November 23 – Karalyn Zeff, a freshman political science major from Leechburg, a 2018 Hometown High Q contestant
  • November 30 and December 7 — University College Director and Associate Vice Provost Michele Norwood
  • December 14 – Elizabeth Muchesko, a freshman criminology major from Charleroi, a 2017 and 2018 Hometown High Q contestant
  • December 21 and 28 – Distinguished University Professor Gian Pagnucci, English
  • January 4 and 11 – Ben Ford, anthropology
  • January 18, 25 and February 1 – Distinguished University Professor R. Scott Moore, history