Pennsylvania's New “Move Over” Law In Effect

Posted on 4/26/21 9:31 PM

On Tuesday, April 27, 2021, a new law in Pennsylvania went into effect called the “Move Over” Law.

What Does This Mean?

Drivers must move over to the next lane or slow down significantly if an emergency vehicle is stopped on the shoulder. Police vehicles, fire trucks, and tow trucks are some vehicles drivers should look out for.

The law has been around for years, but authorities say new additions are being made.

First offense now is $500, second is $1,000, third and subsequent offenses are $2,000, plus a third and subsequent offense can result in a 90-day license suspension—so yes, quite heftier fines.

If you can't move over, you'll now be required to turn on your flashers and slow down to 20 miles under the posted speed limit.

For more information on this new change, visit Move Over, Slow Down.

This message is brought to you by the IUP Emergency Management Office.