The Department of Communications Media celebrated the accomplishments of students and student organizations with end-of-the-year awards presented in a mega-virtual party. Several awards were presented to WIUP-FM and IUP-TV shows and student staff for accomplishments with best show and best on-air staff member.

Awards Presentation - 4-30-20The Student Film Association and Student Photography Association presented awards to outstanding students and outstanding production work. As well, recognition was given to teams of students for outstanding game design and video editing.

Awards presentation - 2Department awards included recognition for Patrick Andrei as Outstanding Freshman Student, Sean Seaman for Outstanding Sophomore Student, Robert Hinkal for Outstanding Junior Student, and Patricia Pinson for Outstanding Senior Student.

College of Education and Communications Broadcast Systems Specialist Chris Barber presented the first-ever Chris Barber Extra Effort Award to Jordan Brasile. Jim Lenze presented the Klingensmith Award for Outstanding Portfolio to Miranda Soliday, and B. Gail Wilson presented the Richard J. Lamberski Service Award to Jake Slebodnick.

Awards Presentation - 3To cap off the awards presentations, the department recognized retiring faculty member Mary Beth Leidman by naming a new award in her honor. Leidman retires in August after 38 years of service to IUP. Student Allison Goodlin was the recipient of the first Mary Beth Leidman Award for Creativity.