Collins Releases New Album, “Chronicle”

Posted on 11/13/2019 8:03:41 AM

Zach Collins, professor of Tuba and Euphonium in the IUP Department of Music, has released a new album, Chronicle. Chronicle features nine previously unrecorded works for solo tuba and tuba-euphonium ensemble. 

Chronicle” Album CoverCollins was joined on the album by pianist Amber Shay Nicholson and trumpeter James McClarty. 

Several IUP faculty, staff, students, and alumni contributed to the album as well. “Chronicle,” the title work for the album, was composed by IUP music alumnus Anthony O’Toole ’11. “Dozeandeeze” was composed by IUP Distinguished Alumni Award winner Jim Self ’65. “Angle East, White Keys” and “Cinematic Fantasy,” three compositions for tuba-euphonium ensemble composed by Collins, were recorded by an ensemble composed of five music alumni: George Alberti ’13, Zack Grass ’14, Mike Waddell ’12, Abby Weaver ’17, and Anne Wertz ’13; one current student, Logan Carnes; and two faculty members, Christian Dickinson and Collins. The ensemble was conducted by Jason Worzbyt, professor of Bassoon and conductor of the Symphony Band at IUP. Heidi Lucas, professor of Horn, was one of the producers. The cover art was completed by IUP alumnus Craig Peterson ’12.

The album was made possible the IUP Sabbatical Committee, which awarded a sabbatical to Collins for the spring 2019 semester. The album was recorded in Fisher Auditorium in January and February 2019 with the help of Technical Director David Surtasky and Piano Technician Dan Alberts.

Chronicle is available on most streaming platforms, including ​CDBabyiTunesYouTube, and Spotify