2019 Leadership Award Winners Recognized

Posted on 4/24/2019 3:21:01 PM

On Tuesday, April 24, the Student Government Association and the Center for Multicultural Student Leadership and Engagement recognized the winners of this year’s Annual Leadership Awards. 

The event, held in the Elkin Hall Great Room, was MCed by Meghan Erwin, advisor to SGA and Educational Advisor in the Developmental Studies Department, and featured keynote speaker, Malaika Turner, Special Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs and Co-Director of the Frederick Douglass Institute. 

Melissa John, winnerSeven awards were presented. For “Community Service and Engagement for an Individual,” Melissa John won for work with the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association, the Sandy Rollman Ovarian Cancer Foundation, Hike for Hearing, Operation Smile, and advocating for Medicare coverage for hearing aids and Autism Spectrum Disorders. 

Ladies of SafetyThe Ladies of Safety were presented the award for “Community Service and Engagement for an Organization.” Based out of the Safety Sciences Department, the Ladies of Safety hosted its first conference, as well as held meetings to educate students in their field with the hopes of reducing the gender gap prevalent within the profession.

The “Inclusion and Advocacy Award” was given to student Palmer Rovins (not pictured) for his work to bring awareness to the disease Anorexia Nervosa. He volunteers as a helpline responder for the National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA), as well as plans events alongside the Rhonda H. Luckey Center for Health and Well-Being. His goal is to end the stigma of eating disorders and to give those affected a voice.  

Pride Alliance Representative, Jake NelsonThe “Inclusion and Advocacy Award for an Organization” was presented to IUP Pride Alliance.  The organization advocates for the LGBTQ+ population.  Additionally, Pride Alliance went a step further this year in working with other marginalized populations within IUP, including people with disabilities. This is evident in their work with the Disability Awareness Panel, as well as their peers who are deaf and hard of hearing. This organization has shown true interest in welcoming and supporting students on campus.

RHA RepresentativesThis year’s “Outstanding Student Programming Award” was given to the IUP Residence Hall Association for their work representing all students who live on campus, their regional work with the National Association of College and University Residence Halls, and one of their programs, the Glitz and Glam Drag Show. The event seeks to create an atmosphere of inclusion and support, and it is well-loved by IUP’s students.

Kenneth CampbellThe “Distinguished Advisor Award” was presented to Kenneth Campbell for work with the Coalition for Christian Outreach. The CCO is a large organization, serving more than 60 students; however, Kenneth takes the time to know each of his students and works to mentor and support them as they grow as leaders and professionals.

Seth WoolcockThe “Outstanding Student Leader Award” was given to Seth Woolcock for his work as the current editor-in-chief for The Penn.  Seth’s work with the publication was instrumental in this year of change, as the student-run newspaper moved to an all-digital format. Seth oversaw this transition with grace while bringing new, fresh ideas to the table.