2019 Hospitality Management Industry Recognition Awards

Posted on 4/19/2019 1:37:04 PM

The 2019 Department of Hospitality Management’s annual Recognition Awards Dinner was held on Sunday, April 7, at the Rustic Lodge.

The department recognized student achievement, service, academic scholarship, and leadership.  Hospitality industry professionals were recognized for their dedicated support to the department and students. Chairperson Stephen Shiring, EdD, MBA, was the master of ceremonies. Following introductions, College of Health and Human Services Dean Mary Williams, PhD, welcomed the students and their families, industry professionals, faculty, and honored guests. Representing University Advancement was Emily Smeltz, development officer for the college.

The department recognized two members of the hospitality industry who have provided dedicated and exemplary support. These industry recognition awards are so named for two distinguished retired faculty members, Donna Cauffiel and Ron Simkins, professor emeritus. The Donna Cauffiel Annual Industry Recognition Award was presented to Ken Lindley, sales/design/project manager, CSP, Curran-Taylor, Inc. by Cauffiel.

The Ronald Simkins Annual Industry Recognition Award was presented to Chip Gapshes, district manager, Hoss’s Steak and Sea House, by Simkins.

The Department of Hospitality Management is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Management.At the 2019 Department of Hospitality Management’s Annual Recognition Awards Dinner.