Tony Award-Winning Best Musical “Kinky Boots” to Close 2017–18 Ovations! Season

Posted on 4/11/2018 1:36:11 PM

The Lively Arts at Indiana University of Pennsylvania is thrilled to present Kinky Boots, the smash hit musical that brings together four-time Tony Award-winner Harvey Fierstein (book) and Grammy Award-winning rock icon Cyndi Lauper (Tony Award-winner for Best Score for Kinky Boots), on IUP’s Fisher Auditorium Stage for one night only on Thursday, April 19, at 8:00 p.m. This national tour is produced by Troika Entertainment.

Kinky BootsTickets for the performance are available for purchase online through the Lively Arts website or by calling the ticket hotline at 724-357-1313. They can also be purchased at the Performing Arts Center Ticket Office in Fisher Auditorium. Any seats remaining will be sold at the door starting one hour prior to the performance.

Tickets are priced at $48 for regular admission, $42 for seniors, and $22 for active I-Card holders and children. Online tickets are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The ticket hotline and ticket office in Fisher Auditorium are open from noon to 5:00 p.m. weekdays. Tickets will no longer be available at the Hadley Union Building. For more information on group rates and other events within the Lively Arts, call 724-357-2787 (ARTS), or e-mail

The winner of six 2013 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Kinky Boots features a Tony Award-winning score by Cyndi Lauper, a book by Tony Award-winner Harvey Fierstein, and direction and choreography by Tony Award-winner Jerry Mitchell. Inspired by true events, Kinky Boots takes you from a gentlemen’s shoe factory in Northampton to the glamorous catwalks of Milan with the uplifting and heartwarming tale of Charlie Price, a young man struggling to live up to his father’s expectations, reluctantly taking over his family’s struggling shoe factory, and looking for a fresh idea. Charlie meets and finds inspiration in the unlikely but spectacular form of Lola, a fabulous performer in need of some sturdy new stilettos, and together they discover that it takes a good friend to make a great pair.

Kinky Boots has won every major Best Musical Award and is represented around the world with the Tony Award-winning Broadway company now in its fifth year, an Olivier Award-winning production in London, an Australian production that opened in October 2016, and an upcoming production in Germany. Other previous productions include a past US national tour that played more than 80 cities, an award-winning extended run in Toronto, two productions in Korea, and a Japanese language production. The Grammy Award-winning Original Broadway Cast Recording of Kinky Boots is available on Sony Masterworks Broadway.

Kinky Boots

The Ovations! series is funded, in part, by donations through the Premiere Club, business sponsorships, grants, and the IUP Student Cooperative Association. The Lively Arts, a program of the College of Fine Arts, presents nearly 200 performances, programs, and exhibits annually.

For full performance schedule and details, please visit

The National Tour of Kinky Boots is produced by TROIKA Entertainment. The creative team includes Tony Award nominee David Rockwell (scenic design), Tony Award-winner Gregg Barnes (costume design), Tony Award-winner Kenneth Posner (lighting design), Tony Award-winner John Shivers (sound design), Josh Marquette (hair design), Brian Strumwasser (make-up design), Joy Dewing Casting and Wojcik/Seay Casting, DB Bonds (associate director), and Rusty Mowery (associate choreographer). Kinky Boots features Musical Supervision by Roberto Sinha, and arrangements and orchestrations by Tony and Grammy Award-winner Stephen Oremus.

The Broadway production of Kinky Boots is produced by Daryl Roth and Hal Luftig, James L. Nederlander, Terry Allen Kramer, Independent Presenters Network, CJ E&M, Jayne Baron Sherman, Just for Laughs Theatricals/Judith Ann Abrams, Yasuhiro Kawana, Jane Bergere, Allan S. Gordon & Adam S. Gordon, Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Lucy and Phil Suarez, Bryan Bantry, Ron Fierstein and Dorsey Regal, Jim Kierstead/Gregory Rae, BB Group/Christina Papagjika, Michael DeSantis/Patrick Baugh, Brian Smith/Tom and Connie Walsh, Warren Trepp, and Jujamcyn Theaters.