2008 Sponsored Programs Award for Outstanding Achievement in Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Melvin A. Jenkins

Developmental Studies

College of Educationand Communications

Melvin Jenkins accepting award

Pictured above, from left, are Mr. Mark Berezansky, Dr. John Eck, Dr. Melvin Jenkins, Dr. Tony Atwater, and Dr. David Werner.

Dr. Melvin A. Jenkins is an associate professor and educational advisor in the Department of Developmental Studies. He also serves as a guest lecturer for the Pennsylvania State Correctional System, and as the Phase II site director for the R.Benjamin Wiley Partnership Program. His past positions with IUP include faculty associate for the Office of the Vice President, interim director for Social Equity and Multicultural Affairs, and assistant to the vice president for Student Affairs. He has been with IUP since July 1992. He has securedmore than$1 million in grants over the course of his career.

Dr. Jenkins has delivered presentations at various colleges, banquets, and other venues. In addition, he has authored three publications. He is also included on the IUP Voices of Joy Gospel album "There's No Turning Back."

Dr. Jenkins' influence is felt throughout the local area through his manyaffiliations. These include the National Association of DevelopmentalEducators, the IUP Interfaith Council (ex-officio member), founder and director of IUP Voices of Joy, chairman of the University Judicial Board, IUP Financial Aid Appeals Committee member, IUP African American Cultural Center Advisory Board member, and Victory Christian Assembly founder and senior pastor. He also serves as chapter advisor to Kappa Alpha Psifraternity, Sigma Sigma Sigma sorority, and Alpha Sigma Alpha sorority.

Dr. Jenkins has twice received the Alpha Kappa Alpha Leadership and Service Award and the Outstanding IUP Greek Chapter Advisor Award.In addition, he has received the Indiana Area Senior High School Ambassador Award, the Indiana Area Junior High School Ambassador Award, the Kappa Alpha Psi Dedicated Service Award, and the Alpha Phi Alpha Lifetime Achievement Award, and has been recognized as an IUP Panhellenic Association Outstanding Professor.