IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |


Honorary Degree

IUP awarded an honorary doctor of humane letters to Donald Mash ’64 at commencement ceremonies in May. Mash, the keynote speaker, worked in higher education for five decades, including as executive senior vice president for the University of Wisconsin System, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire, and president of Wayne State College in Nebraska. More about Mash appears on the inside back cover.

Faculty Awards

The University Senate presented four Distinguished Faculty Awards in May:

    DeAnna Laverick
  • DeAnna Pontani Laverick ’91, M’92, D’05, Professional Studies in Education, received the award for teaching. She is credited with using her elementary school teaching experience, content knowledge, and effective pedagogy to teach her students research-based best practices.
  • Michele Papakie
  • Michele Papakie ’93, Journalism and Public Relations, received the award for service. Papakie has been active on campus as a club advisor, committee member, and coordinator of the 2013 Strategic Visioning Project. A lieutenant colonel in the Pennsylvania Air National Guard, she served in Afghanistan in 2010.
  • Zach Collins
  • Zach Collins, Music, received the award for creative arts. Specializing in tuba and euphonium, he has performed with numerous orchestras and ensembles and as a soloist at national and international conferences. Many of his published compositions have been performed by collegiate ensembles.
  • Ben Ford
  • Ben Ford, Anthropology, received the award for research. Ford’s research centers on historical and maritime archaeology, and he has directed field surveys and excavations on land and underwater. Currently, he is leading a National Park Service-funded study of the Fort Necessity National Battlefield.

President’s Medal

Nell Jack received the IUP President’s Medal of Distinction in March in recognition of dedication and support. Jack and her husband, the late Sam Jack, funded many scholarships, the restoration of Sutton Hall’s Blue Room, and a lecture series that featured Carl Sagan, Sandra Day O’Connor, and William F. Buckley Jr., among others.

Hall of Distinction

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology inducted four alumni into its Hall of Distinction during the 37th annual Business Day in April:

  • Lorna Milkovich Abernathy ’83, former AOL executive; founder, House of Sia
  • George Braunegg ’79, founder, Center for Applied Strategy (CAST) Management Consultants
  • Allen Childs ’81, former automotive industry executive; executive director/CEO, Bucks County Opportunity Council
  • David Williams ’79, executive vice president, PNC Bank, National Association

MacArthur Award

U.S. Army Cadet Command and the General Douglas MacArthur Foundation named IUP’s ROTC program one of eight recipients of the 2013–14 MacArthur Award, recognizing top programs in the country. The award is influenced by the retention and progression of cadets, grade point averages, performance on physical fitness tests, and other factors.

10-Year Investment

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology’s Student Managed Investment Portfolio team won a first-place award at ENGAGE 2015, a student-investment competition with more than 1,500 participants from North America and Europe. IUP’s project started in 2005 with an investment of $200,000 from the Foundation for IUP. Today, that student-managed portfolio stands at about $750,000.

New Faculty Emeriti

The following faculty members were recently awarded emeritus/emerita status. Art: Lynda LaRoche, 16 years, Marjorie Mambo, 24 years; Biology: Sandra Newell, 29 years; English: Lynne Alvine, 23 years, Gay Chow, 23 years, Tina Perdue, 22 years, Susan Welsh, 21 years; Food and Nutrition: Susan Dahlheimer, 38 years; Foreign Languages: Peter Sullivan, 32 years; Mathematics: Lawrence Feldman, 30 years; Music: John Kuehn, 31 years, Sarah Mantel, 27 years, John Scandrett, 33 years; Professional Studies in Education: Anne Creany, 25 years, Monte Tidwell, 19 years.

Reverse Transfer

Michael Driscoll, IUP president, and Tuesday Stanley, WCCC president, at the signing ceremony

Michael Driscoll, IUP president, and Tuesday Stanley, WCCC president, at the signing ceremony

IUP signed its first reverse transfer agreement in March with Westmoreland County Community College and its second in April with the Community College of Beaver County. This agreement allows a community college’s former students who are continuing their studies at IUP to transfer credits back to the community college and earn an associate degree. Agreements with Philadelphia, Penn Highlands, and Allegheny County community colleges are in the works.