IUP Home | A–Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |


Terry Dunlap, left, with IUP President Michael Driscoll

Terry Dunlap, left, with IUP President Michael Driscoll. Photo: Keith Boyer

Honoring Service

Terry Dunlap ’81 gave new graduates this advice at the May commencement ceremonies: work hard, treat people well, be lifelong learners. It’s simple advice he has executed well. In addition to giving the keynote address at the ceremonies, Dunlap, of Pittsburgh, received an honorary doctor of public service degree. With Allegheny Technologies since 1983, he has served as executive vice president of the ATI Flat Rolled Products Group for the past three years. He is also a member of the Foundation for IUP Board of Directors, a recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award, and part of Eberly College’s Hall of Distinction.

President’s Medal

Sam Smith, speaker of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives and a member of the IUP Council of Trustees for 15 years, was awarded the President’s Medal of Distinction for public service in April. A state representative for 28 years, Smith is a member of the Punxsutawney Area College Trust and a longtime supporter of IUP Punxsutawney. The President’s Medal is the highest non-degree award the university presents.

New to the Hall

The Eberly College of Business and Information Technology inducted four alumni into its Hall of Distinction during the 36th annual Business Day in April:

  • Patricia Davoren Darnley ’81, president and CEO, Gateway Health Plan
  • Chuck Leyh ’80, chairman, president, and CEO, Enterprise Bank; partner, Kinol, Sharie, Leyh & Associates
  • Daniel Simoni ’94, partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers; Houston marketplace leader
  • Bill Wagner ’75, chairman, president, and CEO, Northwest Bancshares and Northwest Savings Bank
Biology faculty members Jeff Larkin, left, and Joe Duchamp

Biology faculty members Jeff Larkin, left, and Joe Duchamp joined the IUP Research Institute and the Pennsylvania Game Commission in receiving the State Wildlife Action Plan Partnership Award in February at the Rayburn House Office Building in Washington, D.C.

Teaming with Wildlife

The Teaming with Wildlife Coalition presented the Pennsylvania Game Commission and the IUP Research Institute with the State Wildlife Action Plan Partnership Award in February. The coalition recognized the work of IUP biologists Jeff Larkin and Joe Duchamp, whose efforts included preparing more than 18,000 acres to create young forest habitat for golden-winged warblers and increasing the monitoring of bat populations, surveying for evidence of white nose syndrome, and researching new techniques to combat infection. A photo from the awards ceremony appears on the IUP Magazine website.

Standing Up to Hazing

HazingPrevention.Org selected Danielle Deal, a member of Sigma Kappa sorority who graduated in May, as a recipient of the 2013 Hank Nuwer Anti-hazing Hero Award. As vice president of new member education, Deal focused on helping new members to feel accepted and grow into compassionate leaders.

Safety Best Practices

A student in the MS in Safety Sciences program, Richard Barry was appointed chair of the technical committee for the National Fire Protection Association’s NFPA 53: Recommended Practice on Materials, Equipment, and Systems Used in Oxygen-Enriched Atmospheres. The document addresses safety issues for industries working in or with oxygen-enriched atmospheres. Barry is vice president of safety and technical for Healogics.

New Faculty Emeriti

The following faculty members were awarded emeritus/emerita status during the spring semester. The years indicate total service to IUP and may include other capacities. Gary Bailey, 23 years, History; Robert Begg, 28 years, and Joseph Bencloski ’64, M’70, 24 years, Geography and Regional Planning; Michael Briggs M’95, 8 years, Sharon Sowa, 16 years, and the late John Woolcock, 29 years, Chemistry; James Cahalan, 29 years, and the late Wendy Carse, 21 years, English; Philip Gordon, 32 years, and Mary Swinker, 34 years, Human Development and Environmental Studies; Linda Hall D’96, 30 years, Student Affairs in Higher Education; Patricia Heilman M’83, D’87, 39 years, Journalism; Thomas Lord, 23 years, Biology; Clifford Klinger, 16 years, Culinary Arts; Donald Robertson, 37 years, Psychology; Daniel Shively, 50 years, Libraries; Kwasi Yirenkyi, 26 years, Religious Studies; and Nancy Yost, 18 years, Special Education and Clinical Services.

More from the Summer 2014 Issue of IUP Magazine

Reining In the Party

Reining In the Party

Members of the campus community, including President Michael Driscoll, talk about the challenges IUP and other universities face with excessive partying and what they’re doing to combat it.

Exploring the Cold, Creating a Spark

Exploring the Cold, Creating a Spark

For more than 20 years, alumnus Rick McMaster has shared his passion for science with hundreds of thousands of children in central Texas.

Namedroppers |Mentors

Photo Gallery | Letters to the Editor | In Brief

Comment on This Issue

Providing feedback on this issue of IUP Magazine will help to improve the product and earn you a chance at winning an IUP sweatshirt. Complete the online survey by September 1, 2014, to be eligible.

Distinguished Alumni Awards

The IUP Alumni Association presented its highest honor to 10 alumni in fields ranging from the arts and culinary arts to the military and television and film production.

Cool Summer

Each summer, the campus provides learning opportunities to students from elementary through high school while giving valuable experience to IUP student helpers.

Celebrating Keith School

Former Keith School students, student teachers, and faculty members will gather this fall to say goodbye to the building.

Citizens’ Ambulance Marks 50 Years

When Jerry Esposito ’66 took over what would become Citizens’ Ambulance Service, he relied on the students of Indiana State College to answer calls.