Health and Wellness Living Learning Community

  • The Health and Wellness Living Learning Community (LLC) is located in Suites on Maple East.

    Health and Wellness LLC LogoLLC highlights

    • Share experiences with fellow residents and upperclassmen in your college/major.
    • Join the Students Opting for Alcohol and Drug Responsibility (SOAR) club in the SOAR Spot, located on the second floor and work with them to have substance-free fun and take advantage of student leadership opportunities.
      • Students may also choose to live in our substance-free housing area on the second floor of Suites on Maple East.
    • Access to specialized equipment in your hall.
      • The Health and Wellness Resource room that has items for various health and wellness related majors, including a full-size skeleton, anatomically correct torso, scale, and blood pressure cuff. 
      • Relax, be still, and explore your mind in our Mindfulness resource room. There are pillows, a stereo, and computer to assist you in your mental exploration. 

    Clusters in this LLC

    • Wellness: Provides an environment for students to make healthy lifestyle choices while supporting their well-being
    • Food and Nutrition: Bring and expand your knowledge outside the classroom with others of similar interests through activities within Maple East
    • Kinesiology, Health and Sport Science: Network with your peers while learning about promoting health, fitness, and physical activity
    • Mindfulness: With access to the Mindfulness resource room, students can learn and practice ways to reduce stress and increase confidence while fostering a more compassionate attitude toward themselves and others
    • Nursing and Allied Health: Allows those in the field to continue their education outside the classroom through various initiatives and access to specialized equipment

    Resource Room list

  • Health and Wellness Partners

    Sally McCombie

    Health and Human Services
    sally.mccombie@iup.edu

    Nicole Dann-Payne

    Food and Nutrition
    dann.payne@iup.edu

    Kim Weiner

    Counseling Center
    kim.weiner@iup.edu

    Ann Sesti 

    Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs
    ann.sesti@iup.edu

    Sara Dillon

    Health and Wellness Promotion
    S.C.Dillon@iup.edu

    Stephanie Taylor-Davis

    Food and Nutrition
    stdavis@iup.edu

    Susan Graham

    The Haven Project
    Susan.Graham@iup.edu

    Elaine Little

    Nursing and Allied Health
    E.B.Little@iup.edu