Workflow

  • Ektron Workflow Diagram

    How is content approved?

    Once you are satisfied with the content you have edited or created, you submit it for approval so that it can be published and made available on the public website.

    When you click the Submit button, the Content Management System (CMS) workflow begins. This means that all content flows through an approval chain, with the following components:

    • Author: This is the person who creates the content (text, images, etc.). When the author submits the content, it goes to the website’s approver.
    • Approver: This is the person who approves or rejects the content at the unit level. It may be the department chair, an office director, or whomever the website creator designated in this role. Once the approver approves the content, he or she submits it to the editor.
    • Editor: This is a member of the Digital Team. The editor may approve the content, with or without editing, or decline the submission. If the editor approves the content, it will be made available on the public website by the next morning.

    Note: If you are a content approver, clicking Submit sends content straight to the editor.

    Important: Items submitted to the Digital Team by 2:00 p.m. will be published and appear on the live site by the following morning. Items submitted after 2:00 p.m. will probably also be published for the next day, but this is not guaranteed. If something is submitted after 2:00 p.m. and it absolutely must be live by the next day, please send a message to the Digital Team at web-team@iup.edu explaining the urgency.

    To update your website’s list of web maintainers, please submit an ihelp ticket with details. Note that approvers can only be IUP faculty or staff members.

    How do I know my content is approved?

    The CMS workflow system has the option to inform content authors and approvers by email when content has been approved or rejected. If content has been rejected—either by the content approver or editor—the reason should be included under the Comments tab of the content item to explain why it was rejected and how it should be changed. Based on those comments, the author should rework the content as necessary and resubmit it for approval.

    In order to be notified by email when submitted content has been approved or declined, you need to enable system notification email in your user profile within the CMS. (This will also allow website approvers to be informed when content has been submitted for their approval.)

    You can also see the current status of content by clicking on the folder where the content is located. Look for the Status column.

    • A = Published (approved)
    • S = Submitted
    • I = Checked In
    • O = Checked Out
    • M = Marked for deletion

    When does content go live?

    All of the editing and creating of website content takes place on the Staging server, not the “live” Production server. At 4:00 a.m. each morning, all published content on the Staging server goes live in a process called “eSync.” During eSync, the entire published contents of the Staging server are copied to the Production server.

    (This is why all editing must be done on the Staging server, never on the Production server. If content is edited or created on the Production server, it will be wiped out during eSync when the Staging server version is copied to Production.)

    Can I view content before it is approved?

    You can view content you have submitted for approval, even before it is published, by choosing Content Preview Mode. After you have logged in to Ektron, the yellow “Enter Content Preview Mode” button will appear at the top right of all web pages.

    By selecting Content Preview Mode, you can view unpublished content or changes on the web page. This is especially helpful when placing a new content item into a page layout. See Previewing a Page Layout.

    Remember, content that has been submitted can still be edited by the submitter, even if it has not yet been approved. (Content that has never before been published will not be visible unless in Content Preview Mode.) 

    Only html content can be seen in Preview mode. PDF, Word, and other such uploaded files are not able to be viewed until they are published. The same applies to most metadata changes.

    • Note: Links to those files will be able to be seen (unless they are in a collection). But if the files have not yet been published, the link will either be broken or will lead to the previous version of the file (see Replacing Files in the CMS.

    News Posts

    News posts are the only content item able to be previewed while being edited. Please see Previewing a News Post.

    What is the check-in/check-out process?

    Any time you edit a content block, it is first checked out to you. This process ensures that only one person has access to edit that content at any one time, preventing accidental overwrites from occurring.

    The content remains checked out to you until one of the following occurs:

    • The Undo Checkout icon is selected from the Edit Content toolbar in the CMS Work Area window.
      Undo Checkout icon
      Caution:
      If
      you close the Work Area window by clicking on the X, or the Close Window icon (close window) at the top right corner while the content is still being edited, it will remain checked out to you, and no one else will be able to work on it.
      Do not click the Cancel icon!
      Do not
      click the little arrow to the left of the Submit button. This is the Cancel button. Although it will close the editing window, the content item will remain checked out to you.

    • The Check In icon is selected from the Edit Content toolbar. Check In icon
      This saves your work, but the item does not proceed in workflow.

    • The Submit button is selected from the Edit Content toolbar. Submit button

    • A Digital Team member forces the content block to be checked in.

    Remember, IUP web pages are assembled from different content blocks. The check-in/check-out process works for individual content blocks, which means that two or more people can work on the same web page at the same time, but on different content blocks.

    Please make sure to check in or submit your content when you are done working on it. If you are unavailable and someone else needs to make changes to a content block that is checked out, an administrator will need to be asked to forcibly check in the content block to make it available. Nothing should be checked out unless it is actively being edited.