Faculty and Staff Overview

  • Faculty

    Holly Boda-Sutton

    Director, IUP Dance Theater Company

    Professor, Dance Theater Director, Choreographer, Performer  
    MFA, Dance—Texas Woman’s University
    MEd, Administration—Salisbury State University
    BS, Business—University of Northern Colorado

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-4865
    hboda@iup.edu

    Carrie Cole, Assistant Chair, Director of Production

    Associate Professor, Dramaturg, Historian, Integrative Studies  
    PhD, Theater and Performance Studies—University of Maryland
    MA, Theater Studies—University of Arizona
    BA, Theater—Willamette University

    Office: Waller 206G
    Phone: 724-357-1220
    Carrie.Cole@iup.edu

    Rachel DeSoto-Jackson

    Assistant Professor, Applied Theater  
    MFA, Performance Pedagogy—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, Theatre and Performance Studies—University of Pittsburgh
    MA Certificate, Film Studies—University of Pittsburgh
    BPhil, Theatre Arts—University of Pittsburgh

    Office: Waller 206B
    Phone: 724-357-2777
    Jackson@iup.edu

    Rob Gretta

    Associate Professor, Actor/Director, Musical Theater  
    MFA, Directing—Florida State University
    BA, Theater—Indiana University of Pennsylvania

    Office: Waller 206F
    Phone: 724-357-4037
    Robert.Gretta@iup.edu

    Brian Jones, Department Chair

    Professor, Scenery Designer, Lighting Designer, Technical Director
    MFA, Theater Design and Production—University of Florida
    BA, Theater—Wabash College

    Office: Waller 104
    Phone: 724-357-2965
    brjones@iup.edu

    Rick Kemp

    Professor, Actor, Director, Devised Theater Creator  
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh
    MFA, Performance Pedagogy—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, English Literature—Oxford University
    BA, English Literature—Oxford University

    Office: Waller 206D
    Phone: 724-357-4474
    rkemp@iup.edu

    Ethan Hollinger

    Assistant Professor, Lighting and Sound Design/Technology
    MFA, Theatre—Illinois State University
    BA, Theatre—North Greenville University

    Office: Waller 206C
    Phone: 724-357-2644
    eholling@iup.edu

    Nancy Pipkin-Hutchinson

    Associate Professor, Costume Design and Technology
    MFA, Dramatic Arts (Costume Design)—University of California–Davis
    BA, Theater Arts—Catawba College

    Office: Waller 206H
    Phone: 724-357-4026
    npipkin@iup.edu

    Michael Schwartz

    Associate Professor, Theater Historian, Dramaturg, Playwright  
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, English—Long Island University, Brooklyn
    BA, English major and Fine Arts minor—Georgetown University

    Office: Waller 206I
    Phone: 724-357-2169
    michael.schwartz@iup.edu

    Joan Van Dyke

    Associate Professor, Choreographer, Performer  
    MFA, Dance—Arizona State University
    MS, Ballet—Indiana University–Bloomington
    BA, Ballet—Virginia Intermont College

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-5528
    jvandyke@iup.edu

    Theater and Dance Staff

    Kym Laret

    Costume Studio Technician
    Phone:
    724-357-2654
    Kimberly.laret@iup.edu

    Corey Lunchuck

    Scenery Studio Technician
    BA, Theater—Indiana University of Pennsylvania
    c.m.lunchuck@iup.edu

    Terri Williams

    Fiscal Assistant, Department Secretary  
    Phone:
    724-357-3120
    twilliam@iup.edu

    Theater and Dance Emeritus Faculty

    Barbara Blackledge
    Professor, actor/director, chairperson

    Malcolm Bowes (deceased)
    Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairperson

    Donald Eisen
    Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairperson
    dgeisen@comcast.net
    Retired: 12/30/94

    Robert Ensley (deceased)
    Professor, actor/director, chairperson

    Patricia Lommock
    Associate Professor, choreographer, Asian dance
    Retired: 1/1/99

    Ed Simpson
    Professor, playwright, actor, director
    Retired: 8/18/06