## MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

The December 7, 1983 meeting of the University Senate was called to order by Chairman Lorrie Bright at 3:25 p.m. in Pratt Auditorium.

12 2 2.20

Senators Byrnes, Chamberlin, Como, Dakak, DeFurio, Doerr, C. Johnson, H. Johnson, M. Murray, Newkerk, and Zoni were excused from the meeting. In addition, the following Senators were absent: Alexander, Asting, Bahn, Burwell, Craig, H. Cunningham, Elliott, Forbes, Kolaczkowski, Lafranchi, Matous, McNabb, Mlecko, Moreau, Munro, Norberg, Receski, Rowell, Raibourn, Russe/1, Scroxton, Sehring, Solak, Staskiewicz, Taiani, Tompkins, Troxell, Welker, Whitmer, Wohlgamuth, Wood, Worzbyt, Barry, Boyle, Dentler, DeSantis, Frye, Gibb, Haas, Haley, Henderson, Hess, Johns, Kline, Kosin, Kristobeck, Lang, Little, Major, McCaffrey, Matthews, Mazzoni, Miller, Miller, Molusky, Wagner, Williams, Wolfinger, and Mulhern.

Chairman Bright reported on the December 1 meeting of the Senate Committee Chairs and the Senate Officers. The four major topics of discussion were the following:

- 1) to strengthen Senate input into the admissions process
- to consider a by-laws change so that the Senate does not have to operate without a quorum
- the report of the General Education Committee--wishes advice on what to do with it
- 4) the framework for the evaluation of administrators which has been in place since 1976 but has never been put into operation

The Rules Committee listed the dates for scheduled Senate meetings:

February 14, March 13, April 10 and May 8, 1984

Mike Messner was elected Vice Chairman of the Senate, replacing Julie Yiengst who has resigned to accept an internship next semester. The following new student senators will be joining the Senate: Brian Correll, Ed Kellar, Mark Opalisky, J. Vic Conrad, Charles Bove, Cindy Roan and William Matthews.

On a motion by Senator Tackett, seconded by Senator Ford, the minutes of the November 1983 meeting were approved as published.

On the recommendation of the Curriculum Committee, chaired by Senator Tiger, the following motions concerning prerequisites and enrollment restrictions in lower level courses were passed by the Senate:

- Departments wishing to establish a change in prerequisite(s) must submit proposals to the Curriculum Committee for approval.
- 2) Departments may wish to restrict enrollment in a lower level course for a student who has already passed a higher level course in that department. Such a policy must be presented to the Curriculum Committee for approval. (A substitute motion and a motion to recommit #2 back to the Committee were both defeated.)

As recommended by the Curriculum Committee, the following changes in the B.S. in Mathematics were approved:

B.S. in MATHEMATICS

Program Now

Program Now

Revised Program

Revised Program

CO 110	3	same	3
MA 127,128,227 Calc. I-III	12	same	12
MA 171 Intro to Linear Alg.	3	same	3
MA 172 Intro to Alg.Structures	3	same	3
MA 42J Advanced Calc. I	3	At least 12 semester hrs from	
MA 476 Abstract Alg. I	3	MA 371,421,422,423,424,427,	
At least one of MA 422 Adv.Calc	•	476,477	12
MA 427 Topology, MA 477 Abst	•	6 hrs of math electives from	
Alg. II	3	courses designed for majors	6
9 hrs of math electives from			39
courses designed for majors	9		
	39		

Also on the recommendation of the Curriculum Committee, the following changes in the requirements for the B.S. in Applied Mathematics were approved:

## B.S. in APPLIED MATHEMATICS

5			
CO 110,250,450	3	same	3
MA 127,128,227 Calc. I-III	12	same	12
MA 171 Intro to Linear Alg.	3	same	, 3
MA 271 Intro to Alg.Structures	3	same	3
MA 241 & Ma 342 or MA 421&422	6(7)	at least 6 hours from MA 371,	6(7)
MA 363 and MA 364	6	42,422,423,424,427,476,477	
MA 445 or MA 446	3	at least 12 hours of math	12
At least one additional 3 hours	3	electives from courses	39(40)
math electives from courses	39(40)	designed for majors	
designed for majors			

A new course, MA 366 - Preparation for Actuarial Examinations, one credit, was also approved.

The Student Affairs Committee reported the following constitutions were approved for recognized organizations:

1. Beta Xi

2. Voyagers of Jazz

3. Alpha Phi Sigma

- 4. Mu Epsilon Nu
- Shiloh Fellowship
  IUP Hillel-Jewish Cultural League

7. Student Organization Development Council

- 8. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
- 9. IUP Flute Club of Western PA
- 10. Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
- 11. Gamma Rho Tau

The Student Affairs Committee also listed the following members of the Intramural Sub-Committee: Nancy Newkerk, Ruth Podbielski, Dave Gibb, Ken Kosin and Lora Lee Miller.

The permanent members of the Recognized Organization Review Board are Gerry DeSantis, Major Philip Spence and Marilyn Wagner. The alternate members are Robert Haas and James Welker.

The Graduate Committee, chaired by Senator Bowker, listed the following course title changes for information:

CE 636 - Information Service to CE 636 - Career Development CE 647 - Introduction to Pupil Personnel Services to CE 647 - Pupil Services

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Tartise

Anthony J. Nastase Secretary University Senate





.

....

·

34-111-**1**-10

