File

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

September 16, 1980

The September 16, 1980 meeting of the University Senate was called to order by Chairman Richard Chamberlin at 3:25 p.m. in Beard Auditorium, Stouffer Hall.

The following Senators were excused from the meeting: T. Cunningham, DeFurio, Lafranchi, Sledzik, Storm, Walker, Worthen, Kellar, Kelly and Provonche. The following Senators were also absent: Bahn, Becker, Bogan, Crumm, H. Cunningham, Dakak, Flowers, Ganley, Heimer, Holtz, Ice, J. R. Johnson, Katzbeck, King, Kirby, Landon, Laughlin, Lenglet, Lesneskie, Liscinsky, Magee, Marquette, Matous, McGovern, Moreland, Norberg, Oliver, Park, Podbielski, Powell, Receski, Roberts, Russell, Solak, Tepper, Troxell, Varughese, Walz, Washburn, Wegener, Whitson, Yagel, Antonetti, Benz, Haak, Haberberger, Hughes, Logue, McIntire, Peffer, Shaffer and Wilking.

The minutes of the May 6 and May 13, 1980 meetings were approved as published.

Chairman Chamberlin made the following announcements:

- 1. Welcomed the Senators for the 1980-81 year, listing three items of major importance to be dealt with in the Senate this year:
 - a. some sort of resolution of the Senate Constitution and By-laws
 - b. Foreign Language Requirement now in the School of Social Sciences
 - c. activities program in the physical education area
- 2. Announced that Senator Fred Park has been appointed to the Budget Committee, and he will be reporting to the Senate.
- 3. Asked the following Senators to convene the meetings of committees to get them underway:

Committee B1 - Mary Katzbeck
Committee B2 - Ruth Shirey
Committee D - Robert Warren
Committee F1 - Isabel Helmrich
Committee F2 - Hormon Sladgik

Committee F2 - Herman Sladzik Committee G - Donald Robbins

- 4. The Board of Trustees, at its summer meeting, approved all actions of the University Senate, with the exception of the Pass/Fail Policy, which has been returned to committee.
- 5. APSCUF will appoint a non-voting ex officio member to the Academic Committee, the Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Committee.

Committee A, Rules, announced the following dates for the 1980-81 Senate meetings:

October 14, 1980 November 11, 1980 December 9, 1980 (Beard Aud.) February 10, 1981 March 10, 1981 April 7, 1981 May 12, 1981 Committee A will hold its meeting the first Tuesday following each Senate meeting. Meetings will be held in Ackerman 207 at 3:15 p.m.

On a motion by Tim Michael and seconded by Mary Lou Dressman, Sue Videtto was elected as Vice Chairman of the Senate.

Various nominations were made from the floor for committee vacancies. On a motion by Senator Nesbitt, seconded by Senator Kofoid, nominations from the floor were closed. Ballots for elections for committees will be mailed to all University Senators. Directions and due date will be included.

Committee Fl, Student Affairs, announced that it has approved the following organization constitutions:

Campus Girl Scouts
IUP Chapter of the NAACP
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

As an item of New Business, Senator Goodrich suggested that Committee Bl be asked to investigate the issues and problems inherent in the APSCUF development of a Gray Policy. Chairman Chamberlin indicated that this matter would be taken under immediate advisement.

The meeting was adjourned at 4 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kith Underson

Ruth Anderson

Secretary, University Senate