arch 25

MERUELS OF THE UNIVERSITY SERATE

The March 20, 1980 special meeting of the University Senate, which was called to consider administrative reservations in the revised Senate Constitution and Bylaws, was called to order by Chairman Richard Chamberlin at 3:25 p.m. in Mahachek Auditorium, Stright Hall.

The following Senators were excused from the meeting: Andrew, Arroyo, Chu, Henry, Millward, Reigh, Scheeren, Solak, Tepper, Williams and Primm. The following Senators were also absent from the meeting: Browe, Bogan, Buriok, Crumm, Cunningham, Dakak, A. L. Davis, Eltz, Flowers, Foust, Fuget, Gallanar, Gallati, Ganley, Graham, Heimer, Hudson, Hulse, Johnson, Jones, Katzbeck, King, Knowlton, Lauda, Laughlin, Lesneskie, Magee, McClure, McGovern, Mease, Mlecko, Mett, Murdoch, Murray, Oliver, Perlongo, Potthast, Receski, Rettig, Robbins, Roberts, Schaub, Schmitt, Seacrist, Simkins, Smith, Smith, Storm, Tobin, Tyger, Varughese, Walker, Wolfe, Yagel, Zoni, Aydelotte, Carter, Dressman, Evans, Haberberger, Hileman, Hughes, Larimer, Mahoney, Moten, Nocco, Propst, Provonche, Shaffer, Tavoletti, Turner and Williams.

The Senate took the following actions with respect to the administrative revisions:

BY-LAWS ARTICLE VI - COMMITTEES

Revised Section 1 to read: There shall be STANDING committees as defined in Article VIII of these bylaws. Eliminated Section 3.

ARTICLE VII - COMMITTEE PROCEDURES

Defeated (24 Yes, 38 No, 3 Abstentions) the administrative revision, which read: "Section 3 - Each committee shall elect a chairperson and such other positions as it deems necessary, unless the chair is designated in the committee membership."

ARTICLE VIII - STANDING COMMITTEES

EXECUTIVE

 $\underline{\underline{\text{Deleted}}}$ "it shall act for the Senate in making recommendations for honorary degrees"

ADVISORY

Rejected the administrative proposal, which read: "The committee shall consider policies and review status reports of various committees advising the President of the University; these include, but are not limited to, Admissions, Budget, Computer Center, the Imprint Series, Research Grants, and University libraries. The committee shall review all matters of non-credit courses." (Vote: 19 Yes, 34 No, 7 Abstentions)

Because of the apparent impasse between what the Senate desires in its bylaws and what the administration desires the Senate's bylaws to be, Senator Costa moved to table further discussion of the Constitution and Bylaws and continue to operate under the present Constitution and Bylaws for the 1980-81 academic year. This motion was seconded by Senator Helmrich and passed by the Senate.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ruth Anderson Secretary

University Senate