MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

October 8, 1974

Chairman Thomas Goodrich called the October 3, 1974 meeting of the University Senate to order at 3:30 p.m. He informed the Senate that the Board of Trustees had approved the actions taken by the University Senate at its September 24, 1974 meeting, with the exception of one item which would be sent back to the Senate. Chairman Goodrich also expressed his pleasure in the fact that the Senate appears to be running more smoothly, generating more enthusiasm and causing less friction than previously. Some of the student members of the Senate indicated that they have not been receiving the agenda for the meetings, and Secretary Alice Louise Davis indicated that she would check with Public Information about this matter.

Absent but accounted for: Senators Suhre, Walz, Chamberlin, Sledzik, K. Jones, Lafranchi, DeFurio, Kravitz and Glott.

Also absent were Senators Berthy, Broughton, Buterbaugh, Chaszar, Chellman, Dakak, Gallanar, Gault, Gillis, Goff, Klingensmith, Knab, McGuire, McNamara, Mott, Murray, Newhill, Nold, Scanlon, Schneider, Sheeder, Shildt, Varner, Worzbyt, Bobish, Conglose, Cook, Dietrich, Feese, Glessner, Hart, Kennedy, Kenny, Kirschner, Kunkle, Price, Rehner, Truxell, Turner and Wilson.

On a motion by Senator Shirey, seconded by Senator McCracken, the Minutes of the September 24, 1974 meeting of the University Senate were approved as published.

Chairman Goodrich announced the appointment of Rick Einsporn, student Senator, to a student ad hoc Steering and Planning Committee to consider the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania University bill. He also announced his appointment of Senator Dale Landon to the Ad Hoc Committee on Parking, replacing Senator O'Hare. Chairman Goodrich announced that student vacancies exist on two committees -- Committee B2 and Committee A -- and requested that students who are interested in serving on these committees contact the committee chairpersons.

Chairman Goodrich suggested that a motion of thanks be directed to Mrs. Sandy Fairman and to the English Department for bearing such a great deal of the burden of the Senate work. A motion was so made by Senator Tompkins and seconded by Senator Rawleigh. It was passed unanimously.

Senator McCracken, Chairperson of Committee A (Rules) submitted the following for Senate information:

a. Committee Elections:

Officers: Chairman, Clec McCracken Secretary, James Stein

<u>Sub-Committee Al</u> :	Chairman, Neil Lehman Secretary, James Stein
Sub-Committee A2:	Chairman, Herbert Isar Secretary, Nelson Bormann
Sub-Committee Az:	Chairman, Lorrie Bright

b. In response to a resolution passed by the Senate in May, Committee J is to be activated and charged with the responsibility of defining the responsibilities and procedures for the evaluation of administrators and also with defining procedures by which the University community shall select administrative personnel.

Senator Lehman, Chairman of Committee A1, conducted the following elections:

- 1. <u>Senate Representative to the E.O.P. Council</u> (one to be elected) Norman W. Sargent
- 2. Committee J (three to be elected from each group)

Administrative Segment:	
Kathleen Jones	46
Elwood Sheeder	34
Robert Warren	31
John Chellman	31
Edward Mott	25
Robert Woodard	22
Robert Dain	13
Faculty Segment:	
Ruth Shirey	44
Walter Gallati	38
Donna Streifthau	32
Don-Chean Chu	30
Eugene Scanlon	26
Thomas Gault	23
Student Segment:	
Will Glessner)
Rich Einsporn) all 3 automatically elected
Robert Kunkle)

Senator Tompkins, Chairman of Committee ${\rm B}_2$ (Curriculum), moved approval of the following two courses:

Econ 283 - Environmental Economics - 3 s.h. Econ 450 - Internship in Economics - 2-12 s.h.

The motion was seconded by Senator Richards and passed by a majority vote.

Senator Tompkins moved approval of the following new course:

Social Science 101, Contemporary Social Science - 3 s.h. and its inclusion in the General Education Program as a Social Science effering, and with the understanding that the course will be reviewed in two years by Committee B₂.

The motion was seconded by Senator Dain and passed by a majority vote.

Senator Tompkins moved, Senator Gates seconded, and the Senate approved the following new course:

Phil 101 - Methods of Critical Thinking - 3 s.h. and its inclusion in the General Education Program as a Humanities offering.

Senator Hadley, Chairman of Committee F_1 (Student Affairs) moved that the Senate approve the removal of Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity from the official University student organizations list, as the fraternity has been disbanded by the national organization. Senator Pacella seconded the motion and it passed.

Senator Gray, Chairman of Committee B_1 , reviewed the work of his Committee and announced the formation of four sub-committees and the topics with which each will deal, as follows:

1. Chairman, James Reber.

Topics: (1) Repeat courses and grade forgiveness for returning students.

- (2) D and F reports.
- (3) Pass/Fail courses.
- (4) Advanced standing.
- 2. Chairperson Joan Yanuzzi.
 - Topics: (1) Honors for a second degree.
 - (2) Audits
 - (3) Transferring courses from other schools
 - (4) Early finals.
 - (5) Night exams.
 - (6) Required minors.
- 3. Chairman, Wayne Davis.
 - Topics: (1) Calendar
 - (2) Optional attendance policy.
 - (3) Honorary degrees.
 - (4) Emeritus standing. The committee notes that the departments concerned must recommend retirees for Emeritus standing.
- 4. Chairman, John Tobin.
 - Topics: (1) Academic discipline procedure.
 - (2) Grievance procedure. The sub-committee will consider recommending that academic discipline and grievance matters be handled by a new committee formed for that purpose and would particularly desire suggestions from the Senate.

Senator Gray also announced that a decision has not yet been reached on the academic discipline hearing held on September 27, 1974. Senator Wayne Davis, Chairman of Sub-Committee 3 of Committee B₁, then presented calendar proposals, both 13-week and 15-week, for discussion by the Senate. He indicated that he felt the major question was whether or not the University desired to return to a 15-week semester. Following extensive discussion on various aspects of the calendar, Senator Tompkins moved, Senator Eddy seconded, and the Senate passed a motion approving the concept of a 15-week semester.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 p.m. due to the lack of a quorum.

Respectfully submitted,

Alice Lou Louise Davis. Secretary

adf