## MINUTES OF UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

October 26, 1971

At 4:00 P.M. Dr. William W. Hassler, President of the University, convened the first meeting of the new University Senate in McVitty Auditorium, Sprowls Hall. He explained that the purpose of the meeting was organizational in nature, with the election of officers and the Rules Committee as the major items of business. It was the sense of the body that absentees should be provided with ballots which they themselves would cast for the various positions.

Hominations were invited for the three principal officers, and the following nominees were named:

Chairman:

- - ,

Mr. Lorrie Bright Dr. Charles Fuget Dr. Maurice Zacur

Vice Chairman:

Mr. Tony Bosnick Mrs. Margaret Beck

Secretary:

Miss Cleo McCracken Miss Judy Grimm

The following nominations were made for the various segments of the Rules Committee:

Administrators:

Dr. Francis G. McGovern
Dr. George T. Wiley
Mr. Robert Doerr
Dr. George Stouffer
Mr. Isadore Lenglet
Mr. William Lafranchi
Mr. Herman Sledzik
Dr. George Murdoch
Dr. Roger Axford

Faculty:

Miss Ida Arms Dr. Henry Vallowe

Miss Patricia Fatterson

Mr. James Innes
Dr. Robert King
Dr. Edward Platt
Dr. Richard Berry
Dr. Ronald Marks
Dr. James Oliver
Mr. Donald Eisen
Dr. Irwin Marcus
Dr. Thomas Gault
Dr. Martin Stapleton
Dr. Dorothy Lucker

Miss Ruth Podbielski

Faculty, cont'd:

Dr. Melvin Moodard
Mr. Richard Hazley
Dr. Robert Saylor
Mr. Eugene Hulbert
Dr. Edward Mott
Mr. Donald MacIsaac
Dr. Elwood Sheeder
Dr. Cruz Mendizabal
Dr. Kenneth Brode
Dr. Stanley Cohen
Mr. Charles Davis

Students:

Beth Yenchko
Diane Murdock
Marsha Mrozek
Joe Selby
Shelly Shearer
Chuck Rhoades
Annaleisa Cole
Babe Kolega
Joe Ferris
Rodney Allshouse

Tom Farley

Pat Brisbane

Dr. Hassler requested each member to indicate on his ballot the times which are most convenient and least convenient for meeting times. These will be transmitted to the Steering Committee for its guidance.

Upon a motion made by Dr. Robert H. Saylor, seconded by Dr. Merle Rife, and carried by unanimous vote, the following resolution was adopted:

That the Senate recommend to the Rules Committee suspension of the stipulation that the list of nominees always be double the number of members to be elected with the suspension effective only until the completion of the initial organization of Standing Committees.

With no further business on the agenda, the Senate adjourned at 5:00 P.44.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ William W. Hassler President