FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

The second meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 13, 1966, in Cogswell Hall by the Chairman, Dr. Willis E. Pratt. John A. Polesky was again appointed temporary secretary. The minutes of the first Faculty Senate meeting were read and approved. There were no corrections or additions.

The meeting then considered the one-, two-, and three-year terms of office. Samuel F. Furgiuele moved and Daniel G. Reiber seconded that the committees draw lots for the length of terms at their first meetings, and that the one-year term consist of the remainder of this year plus one academic year, that the two-year term consist of the remainder of this year plus two academic years, and that the three-year term consist of the remainder of this year plus three academic years. The motion was carried.

Dr. Pratt then appointed the tellers for the election based on longevity of service to the University. They were Dwight E. Sollberger--Chairman, Edward W. Bieghler, Ralph W. Reynolds, A. E. Drumheller, Robert W. Burggraf, Catherine C. Carl, Lois C. Blair, S. Trevor Hadley, and James K. Stoner.

A check for a quorum was made and 129 members of the Faculty Senate were counted present. Fifty members are needed for a quorum from the 225 members of the Faculty Senate.

The tellers then passed out Ballot A for Vice Chairmen and Secretaries of the University Senate committees. Robert L. Woodard moved and Charles E. Weber seconded that nominations from the floor be accepted. The motion carried.

Nominations from the floor in sequence and individually were opened for the positions of Vice Chairman of the Faculty Senate and Vice Chairman and Secretaries of Committees B through K inclusive. There were no nominations from the floor for any of these positions. It was moved and seconded individually and in sequence that nominations for each of these positions be closed and all the motions carried A vote was then taken on Ballot A for the positions of Vice Chairman of the Faculty Senate and Vice Chairman and Secretaries of Committees B through K inclusive.

While the tellers were counting the ballots, Dr. Fratt suggested that in order to be practical the Faculty Senate should be adjourned after the next ballot, for committee members, and that the results would be announced promptly upon completion of the talley.

Stanley W. Lore, chairman of the nominating committee then gave his report. The committee met in Dr. Pratt's office and drew up the course of action.

James E. McKinley has accepted a position at another school and was replaced on the ballot for the Steering Committee (B) by Walter W. Gallati. Jane S. Mervire was replaced on the Committee on Faculty Tenure. Promotion, and Academic Freedom



(E) by Ralph W. Reynolds since members of the committee need to be full professors with five years of experience. Dr. Lore said that selection was difficult from such a large and talented group. Dr. Lore said the committee suggested that in the future the committees should choose their own officers.

Dr. Fratt said an Act has been drafted for the Pennsylvania Senate by
Dr. Fechan to provide complete fiscal autonomy through non-preferred appropriations

He also said the matter of waiver of fees for children of deceased members of the faculty has been brought to the Board of Trustees attention by two faculty-member widows. He said individual action would be taken in each case rather than commit the Board for something to take place ten to fifteen years from now.

Dr. Pratt also announced that waiver of tuition for children of faculty is now in effect for September 1967.

The matter of summer leave was brought up and Dr. Pratt said this must be clarified by the Attorney General since the Act is written in an unclear manner. Dr. Pratt felt that six-week leaves should be able to be taken at different times. The number of leaves is now conditioned only by the budget. There are now two and there could possibly be two in the summer.

The question about attending out-of-state professional meetings in state cars was asked. Dr. Pratt said that formerly the policy was no, but now, if the cars are available, they can be used in neighboring states. This is in order not to tie them up for long periods of time.

Charles E. Weber asked whether more than one person could attend professional meetings where different sectional meetings were being held. Dr. Pratt replied yes-they would be considered as separate meetings.

Robert L. Woodard asked if there was any change in the one-month advance notice required for out-of-state travel. Dr. Pratt said this was still in effect since it is a state regulation applicable to all state employees.

Daniel G. Reiber moved and Lorrie J. Bright seconded that nominations from the floor for members of all committees be accepted at once. The motion carried. Nominations for committee members were opened and Richard E. Berry was nominated to the Committee on University Development (I). Nominations were then closed.

The results of the Ballot A election of Vice Chairmen and Secretaries were announced and their names crossed off the ballots. The election of committee members was then held. Dr. Pratt announced that the results of the election of committee members would be sent to the Faculty Senate members as soon as the votes were counted.

Since no additional business was brought before the Faculty Senate, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, John A. Polesky, Actg. Sec