Senate Orientation

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

3:30-4:30 pm

Eberly Auditorium

I. Welcome - David LaPorte, Senate Chair & John Bercik, Senate Vice-Chair

II. Introduction - David LaPorte, Senate Chair

A. History of the IUP Senate and Tradition of Shared Governance

III. Senate Constitution - Michael Korns, Senate Rules Committee Chair

- A. Senate Composition
 - 1. Faculty
 - a. FACULTY vs. Faculty

b. Department Representative vs. Senator At-Large

2. Administration

a. Elected, Appointed, Ex-Officio

- 3. Staff
 - a. Elected, Appointed, Ex-Officio
- 4. Students Elizabeth Solomonides, Senate Rules Committee Secretary
- B. Senate Elections
 - 1. General
 - 2. Committee
- C. Senate Terms
- IV. Senate By-Laws Edel Reilly, Senate Secretary
 - A. Officers
 - 1. Chair
 - a. Parliamentarian
 - 2. Vice-Chair

- 3. Secretary
 - a. Agenda
 - b. Minutes
 - c. Attendance (Notification)
- V. Senate Committees and Functions José Rivera, Senate Rules Committee Vice-Chair
 - A. Rules Committee
 - 1. Attendance (Action)
 - B. University Wide Graduate (UWGC) and University Wide Undergraduate Curriculum (UWUCC) Committees
 - C. Other Committees and their functions
- VI. Basic Parliamentary Procedure Dawn Smith-Sherwood, Senate Parliamentarian
 - A. Table / Floor
 - B. Main Motions
 - C. Common Subsidiary Motions
- VII. Conclusion