Skip to main content
IUP artmark

Safety Sciences Department Advisory Board

  • 2015 Safety Sciences Advisory Committee

    The Department of Safety Sciences maintains contact with outside sources of advice through an advisory board that serves both the undergraduate and graduate programs, including the internship program. The board is composed of professionals in safety and health in academia, business, and institutions.

    Categories include general manufacturing transportation, services, food industry, and the chemical industry. At present, board membership includes many current and past officers of local and national chapters of SH&E organizations.


    • Mr. Frank Baxter, EHS Director, Skanska
    • Mr. Ryan Burr, Director of Corporate Safety, ABM
    • Ms. Teresa Cole, Safety Director (Central Region), First Student
    • Mr. Jeffrey Dierdorf, General Manager Safety & IH, United States Steel
    • Mr. Irwin Dobrushin, Principal EHS Engineer, IJD Enviro Health & Safety, LLC
    • Dr. Lon Ferguson, Chairperson, IUP Department of Safety Sciences
    • Mr. Michael Formaini, Director HS&E, Matrix North American Construction
    • Ms. Gretchen Hancock, EHS Project Manager, General Electric Corporation
    • Mr. Jay Harf,AVP-EHS, L'Oreal USA, Inc.
    • Mr. Bradley Johnson, Safety Coordinator, Phillips 66
    • Mr. David Lerner, Corporate Safety Engineer, Ford Motor Company
    • Mr. Matthew McCarthy, Safety Director, Kokosing Construction Company, Inc.
    • Ms. Tessa Minnick, Safety Engineer, American Red Cross
    • Mr. William Mosier, Business Partner NA Products & Supply for HSE, Syngenta
    • Mr. David Neal, Corporate Director, Safety & Health, PPG Industries
    • Dr. Helmut Paschold, Assistant Professor, IUP Safety Sciences
    • Mr. Joe Progar, Director EH&S, Alcoa Wheel and Transportation
    • Mr. John Tippery, Transporation Safety Manager, CLI - Sheetz, Inc.
    • Mr. Rob Tominello, Safety Supervisor, General Motors 
    • Mr. Joseph Visgaitis, Safety Manager, Mid-Atlantic Division, Southland Industries
    • Ms. Pamela Walaski, Director of Health and Safety, GAI Consultants, Inc.