Faculty and Staff Recognized by University Senate for Contributions to IUP

Posted on 5/6/2018 9:10:02 PM

Four Indiana University of Pennsylvania faculty and staff members are being recognized by the University Senate for their contributions to the IUP community.

Since 1969, IUP has presented the Distinguished Faculty Awards to honor faculty members who make significant contributions to the university.

The 2018 winners are: P. Michael Kosicek, associate professor in the Department of Management, for teaching; R. Scott Moore, professor in the Department of History, for service; Jeff Larkin, professor in the Department of Biology, for research.

This is the third year for the Staff Service Awards, which recognize staff members for university-wide service, service to departments and/or students, involvement with community, collaboration with other staff members and/or faculty, leadership roles, honors and awards, or founding new programs.

The 2018 winner is Evelyn (Lynnan) Mocek, executive staff assistant to the provost.

P. Michael Kosicek

Michael Kosicek wins 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award for TeachingA member of the IUP faculty since 2002, Michael Kosicek teaches both undergraduate and MBA classes and coordinates the PhD in Business program. Each semester, he also works with companies to assist students in obtaining internships and jobs. A co-advisor to the American Management Association, he serves on various department, college, and university-wide committees. For more than 20 years, Dr. Kosicek worked in the power-generation industry for General Electric and Westinghouse and held positions of increasing responsibility in Pennsylvania, Florida, Indiana, and Virginia. His assignments have taken him to Europe, Asia, South America, Canada, and the United Kingdom. In the classroom, Dr. Kosicek creates a culture that inspires students to be involved and to participate. He proactively searches for and selects real-world examples of business events to enhance textbook theory. Serving as advisor to nearly 50 students each semester is another responsibility he takes seriously. After discussing his students’ current semester class load and their schedules for the next semester, he involves them in a discussion about dual majors, minors, résumés, internships, and career paths.

R. Scott Moore

R. Scott Moore wins 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award for ServiceA member of the IUP faculty since 2002, R. Scott Moore has focused his research on trade and communication in the Eastern Mediterranean from the second through the eighth centuries. He has participated in archaeological projects in Cyprus and Greece and in many underwater archaeological projects in North America. Since 2003, he has co-directed the Pyla-Koutsopetria Archaeological Project, an American Schools of Oriental Research-affiliated field project. Dr. Moore’s service on campus has focused on three areas: curriculum, technology, and leadership. His contributions in curriculum development have come as a University Senate representative, as cochair of the University-Wide Graduate Committee, and as a member of the Summer Curriculum Action Team. His work in technology has included serving as cochair of the Academic Computing Policy Advisory Committee, chair of his college’s technology committee, and web maintainer for the University Senate and the History Department. He has also held a number of leadership roles, including chair of the History Department, cochair of the Council of Chairs and of the University Planning Council, and a member of the University Budget Advisory Committee, the Library Ad-Hoc Committee, and the Committee for the Promotion Policies and Procedures Overhaul.

Jeff Larkin

Jeff Larkin wins 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award for ResearchAn IUP faculty member since 2005, Jeff Larkin often combines his expertise in forestry, wildlife ecology, and conservation in his research projects. Since 2005, he has earned more than 60 external awards that have secured more than $6 million. This externally funded research has provided opportunities for dozens of graduate and undergraduate students. Dr. Larkin and his students have assisted state and federal agencies and other conservation groups with understanding the ecology and associated management implications for a number of species, including the black bear, elk, moose, Allegheny woodrat, golden-winged warbler, cerulean warbler, short-headed garter snake, fisher, and American woodcock. To date, 18 graduate students have completed their degrees while working with Dr. Larkin. He and his students also have published more than 90 peer-reviewed journal articles and have presented their research at regional, national, and international conferences. Since 2011, Dr. Larkin has worked closely with the American Bird Conservancy and the US Department of Agriculture’s Natural Resources Conservation Service on programs that benefit forest health, forest birds, and forest owners. He also serves as science advisor to the NRCS’s Working Lands for Wildlife program, for which he earned the USDA’s Abraham Lincoln Award in 2017.

Evelyn (Lynnan) Mocek

Lynnan Mocek wins 2018 Staff Service AwardA member of the IUP staff since 2001, Lynnan Mocek worked as a grant coordinator and as an administrative assistant in Teacher Education before she joined the Office of the Provost more than 10 years ago. She holds a bachelor’s degree in occupational therapy, as well as two IUP degrees: an MA in adult and community education and a PhD in communications media and instructional technology. In recent years, Dr. Mocek played an integral role in streamlining the university’s curriculum approval process, particularly in the development of an electronic curriculum repository, the system through which curriculum proposals now are submitted. Dr. Mocek coordinated the project, a team effort that spanned several years, and ensured that its workflows and processes met the needs of its multiple users. Dr. Mocek has also served on a number of campus committees, including the University-Wide Assessment Committee, Concern and Response Team, Academic Computing Policy Advisory Committee, Online Learning Committee, Center for Teaching Excellence Advisory Board, Distinguished University Professor Committee, University Judicial Board, and University Planning Council.