IUP TRIO Programs Salute Scholarship Winners

Posted on 11/3/2015 1:52:39 PM

Tabitha Yates, 2015 UBMS Alumna.The Upward Bound Math and Science program is pleased to announce yet another winner of the PA TRIO Scholarship—Tabitha Yates, a 2015 UBMS alumna who is a freshman pre-med major at the University of Pittsburgh.

Previous winners are UBMS at IUP alumni Haleigh Hayes, history major, and Cody Stewart, biology major, for 2013 and 2012, respectively. In addition, IUP McNair Scholars program alumni Eddie Brown ’06 and Daniel O’Hara ’14 have won the TRIO Scholarship in their category

Scholarship winners are selected from a pool of graduating high school seniors participating in each pre-college TRIO program (Upward Bound, Upward Bound Math and Science, Veterans Upward Bound, Talent Search, and Educational Opportunity Centers) based on an essay submission addressing the question, “What have you overcome in your life to begin your college journey at your institution?”

Haleigh Hayes, 2013 UBMS AlumnaThe $500 award “is a welcome surprise for our alumni beginning the process of attaining a college degree,” noted Jacque Benhart, program academic counselor who works with the applicants. Winners are vetted and selected by Pennsylvania TRIO Programs and recognized at the Annual Scholar and Achievement Banquet, which honors all TRIO participants across the state during the conference. Tabitha and other scholarship recipients where recognized the annual Pennsylvania TRIO conference held in Lancaster on October 21–25, 2015.

The Pennsylvania Association of TRIP Programs (PA TRIO) represents member institutions that include universities, colleges, and community educations centers hosting TRIO programs (Upward Bound, Upward Bound Math & Science, Veteran’s Upward Bound, Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program, Educational Opportunity Centers, Student Support Services, and Talent Search).

Cody Stewart, 2012 UBMS Alumnus.Kudos to our current and previous winners of the scholarship!