ASSE Outstanding Student Section Award for IUP

Posted on 4/30/2014 11:44:34 AM

The student section of the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) at IUP was selected as the recipient of the 2013–2014 Mine Safety Appliances Outstanding Student Section Award. 

The student section was selected based on the level of professional development activities that the group conducted over the course of the year, their research work, their work in the community and on campus, and their commitment to national ASSE’s values.

The 2014 OSSA Evaluation Committee indicated that they were “extremely impressed with the professionalism of the application, the quality of research conducted by student members, as well as the Student Section’s commitment to the Society and its values.”

As this year’s winner, the IUP ASSE Student Section was invited to send a student representative to collect the award personally at SAFETY 2014 in Orlando, Fla. Elliot Laratonda will be there to accept the monetary honorarium and plaque, to be presented during the House of Delegates meeting on Sunday, June 8.

The IUP ASSE Student Section will also be recognized at the 2014 Future Safety Leaders Conference, to be held November 6–7 at the Hyatt Regency Woodfield in Schaumburg, Ill. The student section will be presented with a $6,000 award to use for scholarship, research, etc.

Tracey Cekada is the faculty advisor to the IUP ASSE Student Section. “We would like to recognize her for her dedication and leadership which has made this award possible.”

Department of Safety Sciences