Biology Personnel Changes for 2013–2014

Posted on 7/21/2013 2:33:19 PM

The Biology faculty continues to evolve, as we say “good-bye” to several of our colleagues and "welcome aboard" to several others.

Martha Jack and Ray Winstead have retired from Biology and IUP following the 2012–2013 academic year. We will miss Martha and Ray, and wish them very long, happy, and healthy retirements.

Tim Nuttle has resigned from IUP to pursue other professional opportunities.  We wish Tim the “best of luck” with his future endeavors.

Christina Ruby and Dan Widzowski are joining the Biology faculty this year, following the conclusion of successful faculty searches in Neurochemistry and Public Health last year. Ruby comes to us from the Mayo Clinic, while Widzowski joins us from Astra-Zeneca. We are very excited to have them join our faculty, and we welcome them to Indiana and IUP.

Several other faculty changes will be apparent during 2013–2014. Vida Irani will be on sabbatical for the entire year, while Jeffery Larkin and Shundong Bi return to active teaching following their 2012–2013 sabbaticals.

Holly Travis was awarded tenure this year, and both Travis and Paul Nealen were promoted to associate professor.

Congratulations to all of our faculty for their many achievements—we are looking forward to an exciting and productive 2013–2014!

Department of Biology