Collins Receives Recording Award

Posted on 8/18/21 8:00 AM

Listen to Chronicle

Chronicle Album Cover

IUP Department of Music faculty member, Zach Collins, was given the Roger Bobo Award for Excellence in Recording for his album, Chronicle, at the 2021 Virtual Tuba Euphonium Conference (VTEC) in June. 

The Roger Bobo Awards for Excellence in Recording are named every two years by the International Tuba and Euphonium Association at their international conferences. Collins’ album was named the winner of the Solo Tuba category, being identified as the best solo album for solo tuba produced in 2019 and 2020.

Several IUP faculty, staff, students, and alumni contributed to the album as well. Chronicle, the title work for the album, was composed by IUP music alumnus Anthony O’Toole ’11. Dozeandeeze was composed by IUP Distinguished Alumni Award winner Jim Self ’65. Angle East, White Keys, and Cinematic Fantasy, three compositions for tuba-euphonium ensemble composed by Collins, were recorded by an ensemble composed of six music alumni: George Alberti ’13, Logan Carnes '20, Zack Grass ’14, Mike Waddell ’12, Abby Weaver ’17, and Anne Wertz ’13; and two faculty members, Christian Dickinson and Collins. The ensemble was conducted by Jason Worzbyt, professor of Bassoon and conductor of the Symphony Band at IUP. Heidi Lucas, professor of Horn, was one of the producers. The cover art was completed by IUP alumnus Craig Peterson ’12.

Bobo AwardThe album was made possible through the IUP Sabbatical Committee, which awarded a sabbatical to Collins for the spring 2019 semester. The album was recorded in Fisher Auditorium in January and February 2019 with the help of Technical Director David Surtasky and Piano Technician Dan Alberts.

Chronicle is available on most streaming platforms, including ​CDBaby, iTunes, YouTube, and Spotify.