The following list provides answers to the most common questions asked by students regarding Desire2Learn (D2L).
Why do I still see old courses?
Instructors are the ones who can close a course. There are times when an instructor may want to leave a course open to students. If you have any questions regarding why you are still seeing a course, please contact the instructor for that course.
You can however, pin and unpin courses from your My Courses widget. We have an article titled Organizing Courses in D2L Brightspace Daylight that will help you learn to pin and unpin courses.
Why did D2L log me out during a quiz, and I lost all my answers?
D2L has an idle timeout of 60 minutes. D2L will automatically log out a person who has been inactive for 60 minutes. The inactivity is determined by the server. We have found that, when taking a quiz, the server does not recognize selecting radio buttons beside answers or typing in an editor in a fill-in-the-blank or essay quiz as activity.
The server will recognize selecting the Save button by each question or the Save All Responses button at the bottom of a page in the quiz. We recommend that students select the Save button after answering each question or the Save All Responses button after answering a series of questions so the server is aware of activity for that quiz. To help you understand that you are about to be timed out, a series of warning messages will be displayed.
When you have been inactive for 50 minutes, the message below will be displayed.
In this case, selecting the OK button will allow you to remain logged in. If this message is ignored and the OK button is not selected within 10 minutes, then the session will expire and the student will receive the 60 minute warning message, which is displayed below.
You will need to click the OK button and either:
Contact your professor to discuss retaking the quiz.
Why did D2L log me out while I was entering information into the edit box of an assignment or forum, and I lost all the information I was typing?
D2L will automatically log out a person who has been inactive for 60 minutes. The inactivity is determined by the server. We have found that when entering information into any edit box in D2L, the server does not recognize that as activity and will log you out after an hour.
The server will recognize selecting the Save button in an assignment or the Post button in a forum. Be alert for the warning messages that will appear after being inactive for 50 or 60 minutes (see the images above). Students can also write up their work in a word processor first, then copy and paste the information into an assignment or forum edit box.
Taking a quiz in D2L can have similar results: please see the FAQ titled “Why did D2L log me out during a quiz, and I lost all my answers?”
Why do I see messages from all my courses in the D2L email?
D2L email is not tied to each course. It is available throughout the program. You can filter which messages you would like to see by selecting either All Messages, a specific course, All Course Offerings, or a Group from the Filter By drop-down menu in the email tool.
I just registered for my course. Why don’t I see it in D2L?
According to the standard course enrollment procedure, when students register for a course they will be placed in a D2L course in approximately 24 hours. They will not see the course immediately after registering in D2L. It is the professor’s responsibility to make the course available to the students at their discretion. If it has been more than 24 hours since a student has registered for a course, they should check with their professor to see if the course is available.
The text on my screen is too small. How can I fix it?