Getting the Semester Started Using D2L

Getting to know the D2L environment

Overview of semester startup activities

How do I copy course content from a previous semester to the new semester?

D2L has provided a very well-done video, titled Import/Export/Copy Components - Copy Components.

There is also documentation on D2L's documentation website, titled Copy course components.

How do I make a course active in D2L so my students can access it?

A common element that faculty often forget is to turn on the course. The steps to activate a course are:

Opening a Course for Students

  • On the navbar, click Course Admin. Then, on the next screen, Course Offering Information.
  • Select the Course is active check box, then click the Save button.
  • Your course is now open and student can access it.

Opening or Closing a Course Using Dates and Times

  • On the navbar, click Course Admin. Then, on the next screen, Course Offering Information.
  • Select theCourse is activecheck box.
  • Next, scroll down and check the box in Start Date, End Date, or both.
  • Set the desired date and time. Click the Save button.
  • Your course will now open and or close on the dates you specified.

How long will students be able to access a course in D2L Brightspace after a semester ends?

Closing a D2L Brightspace course

  1. Log in to D2L Brightspace and access the course you want to close.
  2. Click on Course Admin from the navbar. Next, select the Course Offering Information link in the Site Setup area. On the Course Offering Information page, uncheck the box next to "Course is active." Click on the Save button. The course is closed and students will no longer see the course on their My Courses widget.

Setting an End Date for a D2L Brightspace course

You can set your course to close on a specific date and time.

  1. To set an end date for a course, click Course Admin from the navbar once you are in your course. Next, you select the Course Offering Information link in the Site Setup area. Click on the check box next to "Course is active." A check mark must appear in this box.
  2. Click on the check box next to "End Date," then select the date and time you want the course to close using the drop-down-menus next to the date and time area. Click Save.
  3. On the course homepage, you will see a note next to the course title indicating when the course will close. No one will see that date and time listed until after the specified end date and time.
  4. Once the end date and time is reached the students will see no longer see course title on their My Courses widget on the My Home page when they log in to D2L Brightspace.

Can I import publisher content into D2L?

My publisher offers a direct integration to their materials from D2L. Can I use this in my course?