2009 Award Winners

The Gebhard Family M.A. TESOL Award for Creative Excellence

Tatsuno Chinen and Ayumi Shinzato

The Patrick Hartwell Memorial Award

Jennifer Holcomb Wells

Promising Future Research in TESOL

Amanda Goldberg, for her dissertation, Stolen Voices: Literacy, Identity, and Acculturation of Resettled Somali-Bantu Refugees

Promising Future Interdisciplinary Research in Literacy

Alexander Lapidus, for his research entitled, L2 Cultural Negotiation and Visual Literacy: A Multilingual Perspective

Innovative Research in Composition

Michele Ninacs, for her dissertation entitled, Crossing Over to the Multimodal Side: A Study of the Consensus Building Strategies Employed by Miami University in Support of a Multimodal First Year Writing Curriculum

Exemplary Interdisciplinary Research in Literacy

Adcharawan Buripakdi, for her dissertation entitled, Thai English as Discourse of Exclusion and Resistance: Perspectives of Professional Writers on the Notion of Thai English

Professional Development

Handoyo Puji Widodo, for his many research accomplishments as a graduate student at IUP

C&T Award for Exemplary Teaching of Language and Literacy

Whitney Tudor and Tom Stewart