Groups for IUP Students

  • Groups for IUP Students: Spring 2019

    Chairs in a circleResearch has shown that group counseling is as effective as individual counseling. Talking with other students who have similar experiences provides support and perspective.

    The following groups are offered at the Counseling Center in Room G31, Suites on Maple East. These groups usually include four to nine students and are facilitated by two therapists. Group facilitators work to provide a safe, confidential environment where members are free to discuss their thoughts, feelings, and concerns as they are comfortable.

    Participation in these groups requires an initial meeting with the group facilitators. To schedule this initial meeting or to ask questions, contact the Counseling Center at 724-357-2621, stop by G31 Suites on Maple East, email the group leaders (see below), or email counseling-center@iup.edu.

    Groups for IUP Students: Spring 2019

    Men’s Group

    The men’s group will provide a safe place for men to explore themselves, the range of their relationships and emotions, and other issues relevant to college-aged men. Facilitated by Chris Good, MA (C.M.Good@iup.edu) and Demian Glusberg (D.Glusberg@iup.edu).

    • Tuesdays, 3:00–4:30 p.m.

    Understanding Self and Others

    Do you have difficulty developing and maintaining close relationships with others? Would you like to learn about yourself and better understand your relationships? In this group, you will practice new ways to express your thoughts and feelings in a safe and encouraging atmosphere, while learning to deal with a variety of concerns such as feelings of depression and anxiety, resolving relationship issues, and other personal concerns.

    Section 1: Facilitated by Rita Drapkin, PhD (rdrapkin@iup.edu) and Katie Quinn (K.A.Quinn3@iup.edu)

    • Mondays, 1:30–3:00 p.m.

    Section 2: Facilitated by Rita Drapkin, PhD (rdrapkin@iup.edu)

    • Tuesday mornings (time TBD)

    Women’s Group

    A group for female students to discuss topics such as academics, relationships, families, body image, self-esteem, and other common concerns with a focus on self-awareness and interpersonal interaction. Facilitated by Kristin Faust, PsyD (KFaust@iup.edu)

    • Wednesdays 12:15–1:30 p.m.