Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Lingyan Yang

Associate Professor
Director, Women’s Studies
Department of English, Faculty Graduate English Program in Literature and Criticism
College of Humanities and Social Sciences, MELUS: Society for the study of Multi-Ethnic Literature of the U.S.: Vice President and Program Chair,
Office: 103 Stabley (Women’s Studies); (724) 357-4753
Office: 339 Sutton (English); (724) 357-2604
E-mail: Lingyan@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:  

  • Asian American and Asian Diasporic Women’s Literature and Feminist Criticism
  • Feminist Theories between Worlds
  • 20th-Century Critical Cultural Theories and Literacy Criticism
  • Post-colonial and American Multi-Ethnic Women’s Literature and Criticism

Sharon Aikins

Administrative Assistant 
Office: 103 Stabley (Women’s Studies) 
Office Phone: (724) 357-4753
E-mail: saikins@iup.edu 

Dr. Lynn Botelho

University Professor
Professor, Department of History 
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 208 Keith Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-4483
E-mail: Lynn.Botelho@iup.edu

Dr. Susan Comfort

Associate Professor
Department of English
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 220 Leonard Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-3202
E-mail: Susan.Comfort@iup.edu

Dr. Chauna Craig

Professor 
Department of English
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 352 Sutton Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2576
E-mail: ccraig@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:

  • Creative Writing
  • Contemporary Fiction
  • Feminist Pedagogy

Dr. Alison Downie

Assistant Professor
Assistant Chair, Department of Religious Studies
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 448 Sutton Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-1360
E-mail: alisono@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:

  • Christian Feminist Perspectives
  • Ecofeminst theories and Spiritualities 

Dr. Oriana Gatta

Assistant Professor
Department of English
College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
Office: 110 Leonard Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
E-mail: Oriana.Gatta@iup.edu

Dr. Nicole Goulet

Assistant Professor
Department of Religious Studies
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 446 Sutton Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-1360
E-mail: Nicole.Goulet@iup.edu

Dr. Tanya Heflin

Assistant Professor
Department of English
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 201H Leonard
Office Phone (724) 357-7675
E-mail: heflin@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:

  • 19th- and 20th-century American Literature
  • Women’s Literature and Theory
  • Multi-ethnic Literature (Native American Lit) 

Dr. Melanie Holm

Assistant Professor
Department of English
College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
Office: 110 Leonard
Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
E-mail: Melanie.Holm@iup.edu

Dr. Bitna Kim

Associate Professor
Department of Criminology
College of Education and Educational Technology
Office: 217 Wilson Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2720
E-mail: Bitna.Kim@iup.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Kincade

Associate Professor
Counseling Center
Office: G31 Suites on Maple East
Office Phone (724) 357-3203
E-mail: Elizabeth.Kincade@iup.edu

Dr. Mary MacLeod

Associate Professor
Chair, Department of Philosophy
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 439 Sutton Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2310
E-mail: mmacleod@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:

  • Modern Philosophy and Logic

Dr. Elizabeth Ricketts Marcus

Assistant Professor
Department of History
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 211 Keith Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2513
E-mail: Elizabeth.Ricketts@iup.edu

Dr. Lara Homsey-Messer

Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: G1H McElhaney Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2659
E-mail: Lara.HomseyMesser@iup.edu

Dr. Marissa McClure Sweeny

Assistant Professor
Department of Art
College of Fine Arts
Office: 115 Sprowls Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2530
E-mail: Marissa.McClure@iup.edu

Dr. Theresa McDevitt

Professor
IUP Libraries
Office: 110 Stapleton Library
Office Phone: (724) 357-4892
E-mail: mcdevitt@iup.edu

Area of Specialization:

  • 19th-Century Women’s History

Dr. Maureen McHugh

Professor
Department of Psychology
College Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Office: 204 Uhler Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2448
E-mail: Maureen.Mchugh@iup.edu

Dr. Nurhaya Muchtar

Assistant Professor
Department of Communications Media
College of Education and Educational Technology
Office: 121 Stouffer Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2492
E-mail: Nurhaya.Muchtar@iup.edu

Dr. Gloria Park

Associate Professor
Department of English
MA Coordinator, MA-TESOL Program
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 110 Leonard Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
E-mail: Gloria.Park@iup.edu

Dr. Melissa Swauger

Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 112H McElhaney
Office Phone: (724) 357-0158
E-mail: mswauger@iup.edu

Areas of Specialization:

  • Girl’s Studies
  • Women and Work
  • Women and Education

Dr. Joan E. VanDyke

Associate Professor
Department of Theater and Dance
College of Fine Arts
Office: Zink Hall Dance Studio
Office Phone: (724) 357-5528
E-mail: jvandyke@iup.edu
Distinguished Faculty Award in Creative Arts 2012

Areas of Specialization:

  • Ballet
  • Jazz
  • Ballroom
  • Kinesiology
  • Yoga
  • Pilates-based Exercise
  • Laban Studies

Dr. Brandon Vick

Assistant Professor
Department of Economics
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Office: 213 McElhaney Hall
Office Phone: (724) 357-2640
E-mail: Brandon.Vick@iup.edu

Mary Reading

Graduate Assistant
Women’s Studies
Office: 103 Stabley Library
Office Phone: (724) 357-4753
E-mail: M.A.Reading@iup.edu

Sahara Dickison

Work Study 
Accounting, 2017
Women’s Studies
Office: 103 Stabley Library
Office Phone: (724) 357-4753
E-mail: S.C.Dickison@iup.edu 

  • Women’s Studies Program
  • Stabley Library, Room 103
    429 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-4753
  • Fax: 724-357-2281
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.