Women's and Gender Studies Faculty and Staff Directory

  • Lynn Botelho

    Distinguished University Professor
    Director, Women’s and Gender Studies
    Professor, Department of History 
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 208 Keith Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-4483
    E-mail: Lynn.Botelho@iup.edu

    Sharon Aikins

    Administrative Assistant
    Women’s and Gender Studies
    Office: 103 Stabley
    Office Phone: (724) 357-4753
    E-mail: saikins@iup.edu

    Mary Reading

    Graduate Assistant
    Women’s and Gender Studies
    Office: Stabley 103
    Office Phone: (724) 357-4753
    E-mail: M.A.Reading@iup.edu

    Danielle Yushinski

    Undergraduate Student Assistant
    Women’s and Gender Studies
    Office: Stabley 103
    Office Phone: (724) 357-4753  
    E-mail: D.N.Yushinski@iup.edu

    Abigail Adams

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Anthropology
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: G-12J McElhaney
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2841
    E-mail: Abigail.Adams@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Reproductive Health
    • Human Rights
    • Political Action
    • Borderlands
    • Geographical Focus on Latin America and U.S.

    Susan Comfort

    Associate Professor
    Department of English
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 220 Leonard Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-3202
    E-mail: Susan.Comfort@iup.edu

    Chauna Craig

    Professor 
    Department of English
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 352 Sutton Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2576
    E-mail: ccraig@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Creative Writing
    • Contemporary Fiction
    • Feminist Pedagogy

    Alison Downie

    Assistant Professor
    Assistant Chair, Department of Religious Studies
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 448 Sutton Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-1360
    E-mail: alisono@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Christian Feminist Perspectives
    • Ecofeminst theories and Spiritualities 

    Oriana Gatta

    Assistant Professor
    Department of English
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
    Office: 110 Leonard Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
    E-mail: Oriana.Gatta@iup.edu

    Nicole Goulet

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Religious Studies
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 446 Sutton Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-1360
    E-mail: Nicole.Goulet@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Race, Class, and Gender in Hinduism
    • Feminist and Postcolonial approaches in Colonial India

    Tanya Heflin

    Assistant Professor
    Department of English
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 201H Leonard
    Office Phone (724) 357-7675
    E-mail: heflin@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • 19th- and 20th-century American Literature
    • Women’s Literature and Theory
    • Multi-ethnic Literature (Native American Lit) 

    Melanie Holm

    Assistant Professor
    Department of English
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
    Office: 110 Leonard
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
    E-mail: Melanie.Holm@iup.edu

    Bitna Kim

    Associate Professor
    Department of Criminology
    College of Education and Educational Technology
    Office: 217 Wilson Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2720
    E-mail: Bitna.Kim@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • International and Comparative Criminology
    • Gender and Crime
    • Minority Issues in Criminology
    • Police-Community Corrections Partnerships
    • Evidence-Based Crime Prevention Practice and Meta-Analysis
    • Female Homicide Offender; Domestic Violence  

    Mary MacLeod

    Associate Professor
    Chair, Department of Philosophy
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 439 Sutton Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2310
    E-mail: mailto:mmacleode@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Modern Philosophy and Logic

    Elizabeth Ricketts Marcus

    Assistant Professor
    Department of History
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 211 Keith Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2513
    E-mail: Elizabeth.Ricketts@iup.edu

    Marissa McClure Sweeny

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Art
    College of Fine Arts
    Office: 115 Sprowls Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2530
    E-mail: Marissa.McClure@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Feminist Art
    • Feminist Theory
    • Feminist Approaches to Art Education 

    Theresa McDevitt

    Professor
    IUP Libraries
    Office: 110 Stapleton Library
    Office Phone: (724) 357-4892
    E-mail: mcdevitt@iup.edu

    Area of Specialization:

    • 19th-Century Women’s History

    Maureen McHugh

    Distinguished University Professor
    Department of Psychology
    College Natural Sciences and Mathematics
    Office: 204 Uhler Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2448
    E-mail: Maureen.Mchugh@iup.edu

    Nurhaya Muchtar

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Communications Media
    College of Education and Educational Technology
    Office: 121 Stouffer Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2492
    E-mail: Nurhaya.Muchtar@iup.edu

    Gloria Park

    Associate Professor
    Department of English
    MA Coordinator, MA-TESOL Program
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 110 Leonard Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2261
    E-mail: Gloria.Park@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Language Teacher Identity
    • East Asian Women's Life Histories
    • Equity and Access Issues in Second Language Teacher Education

    Melissa Swauger

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Sociology
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 112H McElhaney
    Office Phone: (724) 357-0158
    E-mail: mswauger@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Girl’s Studies
    • Women and Work
    • Women and Education

    Joan VanDyke

    Associate Professor
    Department of Theater and Dance
    College of Fine Arts
    Office: Zink Hall Dance Studio
    Office Phone: (724) 357-5528
    E-mail: jvandyke@iup.edu
    Distinguished Faculty Award in Creative Arts 2012 

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Ballet
    • Jazz
    • Ballroom
    • Kinesiology
    • Yoga
    • Pilates-based Exercise
    • Laban Studies

    Brandon Vick

    Assistant Professor
    Department of Economics
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Office: 213 McElhaney Hall
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2640
    E-mail: Brandon.Vick@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Gender Inequalities in the Workforce
    • Measuring the Gender Wage Gap
    • Multidimensional Poverty Measurement and Gender Differences.

    Lingyan Yang

    Associate Professor
    Department of English
    Office: 339 Sutton
    Office Phone: (724) 357-2604
    E-mail: lingyan@iup.edu

    Areas of Specialization:

    • Asian American and Asian Diasporic Women’s Literature and Feminist Criticism
    • Feminist Theories between Worlds
    • 20th-Century Critical Cultural Theories and Literacy Criticism
    • Post-colonial and American Multi-Ethnic Women’s Literature and Criticism