Faculty and Staff Overview

  • Faculty

    Holly Boda-Sutton

    Director, IUP Dance Theater Company

    Professor, Dance Theater director, choreographer, performer  
    MFA, Dance—Texas Woman’s University  
    MEd, Administration—Salisbury State University
    BS, Business—University of Northern Colorado

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-4865
    hboda@iup.edu

    Dr. Carrie J. Cole 

    Assistant Professor, dramaturg, historian, integrative studies  
    PhD, Theater and Performance Studies—University of Maryland
    MA, Theater Studies—University of Arizona
    BA, Theater—Willamette University

    Office: Waller 206F
    Phone:724-357-1220
    Carrie.Cole@iup.edu 

    Rachel DeSoto Jackson

    Assistant Professor, applied theater  
    MFA, Performance Pedagogy--University of Pittsburgh
    MA, Theatre and Performance Studies--University of Pittsburgh
    MA Certificate, Film Studies--University of Pittsburgh
    BPhil, Theatre Arts--University of Pittsburgh

    Office: Waller 206B
    Phone: 724-357-2777
    Rachel.Jackson@iup.edu

    Rob Gretta

    Assistant professor, actor/director, musical theater  
    MFA, Directing—Florida State University   
    BA, Theater—Indiana University of Pennsylvania 

    Office: Waller 206B 
    Phone: 724-357-4037 
    Robert.Gretta@iup.edu

    Brian R. Jones, Department Chair

    Professor, scenery designer, lighting designer  
    MFA, Theater Design and Production—University of Florida  
    BA, Theater—Wabash College

    Office: Waller 104
    Phone: 724-357-2965
    brjones@iup.edu

    Dr. Rick Kemp

    Professor, actor, director, devised theater creator  
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh  
    MFA, Performance Pedagogy—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, English Literature—Oxford University
    BA, English Literature—Oxford University

    Office: Waller 206E
    Phone: 724-357-4474
    rkemp@iup.edu

    Vincent Lobello

    Assistant Professor, technical director/production manager  
    MFA, Theatre, Technical Production--Florida State University  
    BA, Theatre, Illinois State University

    Office: Waller 206D 
    Phone: 724-357-2644
    vincent.lobello@iup.edu 

    Nancy Pipkin-Hutchinson

    Assistant professor, costume design and technology  
    MFA, Dramatic Arts (Costume Design) - University of California-Davis
    BA, Theater Arts - Catawba College

    Office: Waller 206C 
    Phone: 724-357-4026
    npipkin@iup.edu

    Dr. Michael Schwartz

    Associate Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, playwright  
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh  
    MA, English—Long Island University, Brooklyn
    BA, English major and Fine Arts minor—Georgetown University

    Office: Waller 206I
    Phone: 724-357-2169
    michael.schwartz@iup.edu

    Joan Van Dyke

    Associate professor, choreographer, performer  
    MFA, Dance—Arizona State University  
    MS, Ballet—Indiana University, Bloomington
    BA, Ballet—Virginia Intermont College

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-5528
    jvandyke@iup.edu

    Theater and Dance Staff

    Corey Lunchuck

    Scene shop supervisor  
    BA, Theater—Indiana University of Pennsylvania
    Phone: 724-357-2644
    c.m.lunchuck@iup.edu

    Terri Williams

    Fiscal assistant, department secretary  
    Phone: 724-357-3120
    twilliam@iup.edu

    Theater and Dance Emeritus Faculty

    Barbara Blackledge
    Professor, actor/director, chairperson

    Dr. Malcolm Bowes (deceased)
    Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairperson

    Dr. Donald G. Eisen
    Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairperson
    dgeisen@comcast.net
    Retired: 12/30/94

    Dr. Robert Ensley (deceased)
    Professor, actor/director, chairperson

    Patricia Lommock
    Associate professor, choreographer, Asian dance  
    Retired: 1/1/99

    Ed Simpson
    Professor, playwright, actor, director 
    Retired: 8/18/06