Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

May 2010

Volume VI No. 5
Chalk on the Walk

Expressions in Chalk—IUP’s nineteenth annual Sidewalk Commentary Contest, a.k.a.“Chalk-on-the-Walk,” was held on April 28.The contest was organized by the campus chapter of the National Art Education Association along with the College of Fine Arts. Chalk-on-the-Walk has become an all-campus tradition involving hundreds of students and employees participating and several hundred more viewing the dozens of entries on the walks of the Oak Grove throughout the day. Pictured above is first-place winner Maurice Jackson, a senior Art major from Philadelphia, working on his drawing. Photo by Keith Boyer.

2010 Presidential Legacy Awards
At the third annual IUP Legacy Gala, President Tony Atwater presented the 2010 Presidential Legacy Award for Alumni Distinction and the Presidential Legacy Award for Civic Service.
Basketball Team Praised by Governor
In honor of reaching the NCAA Division II championship game, members of the IUP men’s basketball team were invited to lunch at Governor Ed Rendell’s residence in Harrisburg.
Biology Student Chosen for Goldwater
The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation has named an Indiana University of Pennsylvania student as a winner in its national competition.
Comfort Receives Fulbright Scholarship
Dr. Susan Comfort, associate professor in the Department of English, has been selected for a Fulbright Scholarship.
Creely is Assistant Dean for Research
Dr. Hilliary Creely has accepted the position of assistant dean for Research.
Faculty and Staff Stars
Our people in the news
Honors College Student Wins Fulbright
An IUP senior is one of only fourteen students in the nation selected this year for the Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship.
In Transition
Employees on the move
Outman is First IUP Penn Relays Champion
Maddy Outman has become the first IUP athlete to win a Championship of America event at the Penn Relays.
Published Faculty
Published and creative works were recognized at the annual reception honoring faculty members who publish, hosted by President Tony Atwater.
Research Awards Presented
Faculty and staff members and graduate students were honored for contributions to academic excellence during the Outstanding Achievement in Sponsored Programs and Excellence in Graduate Student Research awards program.
Teaching Excellence Awards for 2009–2010
Four faculty members have been selected as recipients of the 2009–2010 Teaching Excellence Awards, sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence.
  • Communications and Marketing Office
  • Sutton Hall, Room 316
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-3062
  • Fax: 724-357-5512
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.