Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

February 25, 2010

Liberal Studies Committee Minutes

3:30 p.m.
Stabley 101

Present: Y. Asamoah, M. Hildebrandt, K. McKee, D. Pistole, F. Slack, T. Wacker, G. Wilson, C. Zoni
Excused:  M. Taddie

1. Approve minutes of 18 February 2010 meeting – McKee/Zoni motion:  unanimous.

2.  Wilson/Asamoah motion to approve the revised criteria for Oral and Technical Communication based on comments from the senate meeting.  Passed, 8/0/0. 

3. Wilson/Zoni motion to approve the revision to delete the statement of “50% of the grade must be based on …” in the required course content in all of the courses (where found) in the across the curriculum category.   Passed 8/0/0.

4.  The First Year Seminar was revisited and a Wilson/Wacker motion was made to approve the revised FYS.  Passed 8/0/0.

5. FYS – the committee continued to discuss the issues of the prefix – LBST or departmental for FYS.

Motion to adjourn:  Wilson/Asamoah - Passed Unanimous.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 pm.

  • Liberal Studies Program
  • Stabley Library, Room 103
    429 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-5715
  • Fax: 724-357-2281
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.