Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

NUSAT: Nontraditional Undergraduate Student Advocacy Team

Purpose of NUSAT

Unemployment rates within the Indiana County area and the surrounding counties are causing nontraditional learners to experience a paradigm shift toward higher education. Some nontraditional learners will want to return to school for studying programs that can lead to a career change, while others will elect to attempt higher education for the first time.

IUP recognizes that this nontraditional student market deserves serving, and the university has the opportunity to address and adequately plan for a potentially significant increase in nontraditional students. IUP will review, revise, and/or adopt policies, practices, and procedures that are supportive of nontraditional learners in order to enhance the nontraditional student admission, enrollment, retention, and graduation rates. Through the formation of an Advocacy Team, a forum becomes available for nontraditional students to air their concerns and needs and at the same time gain better understanding of how well IUP’s current educational methods are serving this student population.

If you wish to share your ideas about how IUP can enhance serving our adult/nontraditional undergraduate students, please feel welcome to contact any member of NUSAT in order to convey your ideas for reflection and discussion at a NUSAT meeting.

Thank you.

Composition of NUSAT Membership

  • Rich DiStanislao
    Executive director, Center for Student Success, Richard.DiStanislao@iup.edu 
  • Paula Andrei
    PA Workforce Initiative and the Center for Career and Technical Personnel Preparation, Paula.Andrei@iup.edu 
  • Jen Bergey
    Secretary, Journalism; undergraduate bachelor’s degree student, Jennifer.Bergey@iup.edu 
  • Dr. Laurel Black
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Department of English, faculty, Laurel.Black@iup.edu 
  • Faye Catlos
    Instructor in the Center for Career and Technical Personnel Preparation, Faye.Catlos@iup.edu 
  • Pam Clouser
    Co-president, Non-Traditional Students Association; undergraduate student in Anthropology,jvrq@iup.edu
  • Robin Gorman
    Executive assistant and chief of staff to the president, R.Gorman@iup.edu 
  • Dr. Kim Husenits
    College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Department of Psychology, faculty, Kimberly.Husenits@iup.edu 
  • Michele Norwood
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences, associate dean, Michele.Norwood@iup.edu 
  • Dr. Mark Palumbo
    College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Department of Psychology, faculty, Mark.Palumbo@iup.edu 
  • Dr. Amanda Poole
    College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Department of Anthropology, faculty and faculty advisor for the Non-Traditional Students Association, Amanda.Poole@iup.edu 
  • Lori Roles
    Admissions Counselor, Transfer Students, Lori.Roles@iup.edu
  • Kim Wick
    Co-president, Non-Traditional Students Association; secretary, Center for Student Life; IUP postbaccalaureate student in Political Science, Kimberly.Wick@iup.edu

 

  • Division of Academic Affairs
  • Sutton Hall, Room 205
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2219
  • Fax: 724-357-2498
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.