Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Test of English as a Foreign Language

 

Upcoming IUP TOEFL Dates

  • Saturday, June 28
  • Friday, July 11
  • Saturday, July 26
  • Saturday, August 9
  • Friday, August 22
  • Saturday, September 6
  • Friday, September 19
  • Saturday, October 4
  • Friday, October 17
  • Saturday, October 25
  • Friday, November 21
  • Saturday, December 6
  • Friday, December 12

 

TOEFL iBT Registration The purpose of the TOEFL iBT is to measure your ability to use and understand English at the university level. It evaluates how well you combine your listening, reading, speaking and writing skills to perform academic tasks.

Combining All Four Skills: Listening, Reading, Speaking, and Writing

During the test, you are asked to perform tasks that combine more than one skill, such as:

  • Read, listen, and then speak in response to a question
  • Listen and then speak in response to a question
  • Read, listen, and then write in response to a question
TOEFL iBT Test Sections
Section Time Limit Questions Tasks
Reading* 60–80 minutes 36–56 questions Read three or four passages from academic texts and answer questions.
Listening 60–90 minutes 34–51 questions Listen to lectures, classroom discussions, and conversations, then answer questions.
Break 10 minutes
Speaking 20 minutes 6 tasks Express an opinion on a familiar topic; speak based on reading and listening tasks.
Writing 50 minutes 2 tasks Write essay responses based on reading and listening tasks; support an opinion in writing.

IUP is test site #7737 for TOEFL.

On Test Day

All TOEFL tests begin at 8:00 a.m. Please arrive at the testing center 30 minutes before testing begins. The testing center is located on the lower level of Pratt Hall, Room 107.

There are only two important things you need to bring with you on test day:

  • Acceptable, valid ID with your name, recent photograph and signature. You will be required to enter ID information before you register to test. ID requirements depend on your country of citizenship and where you plan to test. See ID requirementsfor more details.
  • Your registration number.

For more test day information, please visit the TOEFL website.

Questions? Please refer to the 2013–14 TOEFL Registration Bulletin.


  • University Testing Center
  • Pratt Hall, Suite 107
    201 Pratt Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-4994
  • Fax: 724-357-3957
  • Office Hours
  • Mon-Fri: 8:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: 8:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.