Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Freshman Convocation 2014

Freshman Convocation 2014

August 24, 2014
5:00 p.m.

Fisher Auditorium

As a community, IUP welcomes the arrival of the Class of 2018 with the Freshman Convocation celebration.

As a community, IUP welcomes the arrival of the Class of 2018 with the Fall Convocation celebration.

IUP student leaders join with faculty and staff to welcome the entering Class of 2018. Dr. Victor Garcia will assume the Distinguished University Professor role as Master of Ceremonies. IUP President Mike Driscoll, along with other university leaders, will compose the platform party and extend a formal welcome to new students. Music will be provided by members of the IUP Wind Ensemble and Symphony Band.

Convocation Schedule

Convocation: 5:00 p.m., Fisher Auditorium

Faculty, students, and staff commute from department meetings to Fisher Auditorium. Convocation begins and speakers deliver their addresses.

Oak Grove Cookout: Immediately Following Convocation, Oak Grove

Oak Grove cookout! Aramark has prepared a scrumptious menu, so please join faculty and staff for food and fun.

(Rain location: Foster Dining Hall and HUB)

Convocation Speakers

Dr. Krzysztof Kaniasty

IUP Distinguished University Professor for 2014–2015, Dr. Kaniasty will serve as master of ceremonies for the Freshman Convocation.

Dr. Mike Driscoll

On behalf of the IUP community, President Driscoll will offer a welcome to the entering class.

Dr. Victor Garcia

IUP Distinguished University Professor for 2013–2014, Dr. Garcia will serve as keynote speaker.

Aaron Douthit

A junior Nursing major from Stump Creek, Pa., Mr. Douthit will serve as student speaker.

Additional speakers to be announced.

  • Advising and Testing Center
  • Pratt Hall, Room 216
    201 Pratt Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-4067
  • Fax: 724-357-2889
  • Office Hours for Orientation Questions
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.