Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Three IUP Faculty Members Honored with Distinguished Faculty Awards

Abbas Ali, Management, was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Award for Research; David LaPorte, Psychology, with the Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching; and Jonathan Smith, Health and Physical Education, with the Distinguished Faculty Award for Service.

Abbas Ali   J.B. Smith  David LaPorte 

The awards were presented by President Tony Atwater during IUP’s 2009 Honors Day on March 29. IUP has honored exemplary faculty members who make significant contributions to the university with these awards since 1969. The winners are determined by the University Senate Awards Committee. The award recipients also are recognized at May commencement ceremonies.

  • Communications and Marketing Office
  • Sutton Hall, Room 316
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-3062
  • Fax: 724-357-5512
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.