Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Middle States Accreditation IUP Self Study 2013-2016 The IUP Middle States Accreditation 2016 subcommittees implement the universitywide Self-Study, evaluating IUP on the 14 standards in the Middle States Commission of Higher Education Characteristics of Excellence in Higher Education, and prepare the report that will be presented to the MSCHE evaluation team. 

For answers to your questions about accreditation review, please e-mail middle-states@iup.edu.

Subcommittee 1
Mission, Goals, and Integrity

Standards 1 and 6
Co-Chairs:

Bill Balint, William.Balint@iup.edu, Chief Information Officer
Fredalene Bowers, Fredalene.Bowers@iup.edu, Council of Chairs Representative, Faculty, Human Development and Environmental Studies, College of Health and Human Services

Subcommittee 2
Planning, Resources, andInstitutional Renewal

Standards 2 and 3
Co-Chairs:

John Kilmarx, John.Kilmarx@iup.edu, Associate Vice President for Academic Administration
Shari Robertson, Shari.Robertson, Dean’s Associate, School of Graduate Studies and Research, Faculty, Department of Special Education and Clinical Services, College of Education and Educational Technology

Subcommittee 3
Leadership, Governance, and Administration

Standards 4 and 5
Co-Chairs:

Yaw Asamoah, Yaw.Asamoah@iup.edu, Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Edel Reilly, Edel.Reilly@iup.edu, Faculty, Department of Mathematics, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Subcommittee 4
Student Admissions, Retention, and Support Services

Standards 8 and 9
Co-Chairs:

Kate Linder, Kathleen.Linder@iup.edu, Associate Dean of Students for Student Life and Community Engagement
Jack Makara, Jack.Makara@iup.edu, Assistant Director for Assessment and Academic Initiatives

Subcommittee 5
Faculty and EducationalOfferings

Standards 10 and 11
Co-Chairs:

Steve Hovan, Steven.Hovan@iup.edu , Faculty, Department of Geoscience, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Ramesh Soni, Ramesh.Soni@iup.edu, APSCUF Representative, Faculty, Department of Management, Eberly College of Business

Subcommittee 6
General Education and Related Educational Activities

Standards 12 and 13
Co-Chairs:

Terry Appolonia, Terry.Appolonia@iup.edu, Dean, Punxsutawney Campus
Gail Wilson, B.G.Wilson@iup.edu, Faculty, Department of Communication Media, College of Education and Educational Technology

Subcommittee 7
Institutional Assessment andStudent Learning Assessment

Standards 7 and 14
Co-Chairs:

Barbe Moore, Barbara.Moore@iup.edu, Director of Planning and Assessment
Timothy Runge, Timothy.Runge@iup.edu, Faculty, Department of Educational and School Psychology, College of Education and Educational Technology

  • Division of Academic Affairs
  • Sutton Hall, Room 209
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2209
  • Fax: 724-357-3407
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.